Print Page | Close Window

Govea

Printed From: Progarchives.com
Category: Progressive Music Lounges
Forum Name: Interviews
Forum Description: Original interviews with Prog artists (which are exclusive to Prog Archives)
URL: http://www.progarchives.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=82385
Printed Date: March 29 2024 at 00:33
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Govea
Posted By: memowakeman
Subject: Govea
Date Posted: October 31 2011 at 18:38

I could interview Salvador Govea, leader of this wonderful Mexican trio, whose music is a fusion of symphonic prog, jazz and classical music. So far they have released a CD and a DVD, both entitled "Danza Urbana" 

Hope you all enjoy the interview, and why not, get Govea's music soon!

Guillermo: From general to specific, first of all tell me why choosing music?

Salvador Govea: Well, I was introduced to music since I was a kid, I studied music at eleven; and then with time you choose what move you the most, you choose if you want to do it only as a hobby, or if it is something actually serious. I studied Computing, but at the same time I was taking music sessions, there is a moment where you decide what your life will be about, no matter the obstacles. You have to do what you like, because if you do not enjoy it then it makes no sense at all. I remember those old clichés, “music will not give you money, it is not something worth it”, things you listen everyday but that at the same time give you strength. So after all you have to fight them, and do what you want to do.

But tell me how to fight those clichés, in this society where minorities have to suffer its context?