URL: http://www.progarchives.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=90144
Printed Date: April 30 2024 at 01:47
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Greetings Prog Lovers!
Posted By: amarucci89
Subject: Greetings Prog Lovers!
Date Posted: October 16 2012 at 21:29
Hey there,

First of all I just want to say that I'm super pleased to see such a sprawling and active website dedicated to the enculturation of Progressive music. I discovered this website a little over a year ago and quickly realized how much of an asset it is to the music community.  People into Prog now have a place to go, and it also serves as a great reference for people who have never heard of PROG before!  Only wished I joined sooner..

A little bit about myself... I am a 23 year old guitarist, music major, and music lover in general but I have a particular taste for Progressive Rock, Jazz Fusion, and similar genres.  Growing up in the 90's I had a couple things which were important to me: Power Rangers, video games, and Dream Theater - the band that started it all for me. In fact, they were the first Rock band I had ever heard and interestingly enough, they would be one of my biggest influences today.  I also enjoy Classic Prog such as Rush, Yes, Genesis, Camel, etc..  In recent years my love for Jazz exploded (not in the way you think Tongue) thanks to Jazz Fusion artists such as Return To Forever, Mahavishnu, Weather Report.  Lately, I am really diggin Japanese Rock music, anime soundtracks, scores, etc, and noticed a strong correlation between anime soundtracks and Prog Rock...  one composer to check out would be Ko Otani who wrote the soundtrack for the Gundam Wing series (check out CD1 of the Gundam Wing OST for some awesome Intrumental Symphonic Prog Rock & Prog Metal).  My newly formed project is taking off and we are now working very hard on new music and finding new members - but that will be in another post, this one's getting too long!  Well time to wrap this