Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Ayreon - Universal Migrator, Part 2: Flight Of The Migrator CD (album) cover




Progressive Metal

3.62 | 424 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

3 stars Ok, second part, the metal side.

In the last review when I said I would pick a favourite, I'm sad to say, that I slightly prefer the first part. I know this is almost blasphemous coming from quite a big metal fan, but to be honest, I thought the material and atmosphere just beat this album by a hair.

I though the line up of vocalists was better this time around and their wasn't any songs that I disliked, but it's one of those weird decisions that doesn't make sense, and to be honest it was a bit of a head scratcher.

Concept wise, the story goes beyond space and time, to the beginning of the universe, and the amazing Ayreon sound really does bring forth quite a bright imagination.

1. Chaos - Introduction, bit like the intro of the last album.Amazing progressive metal instrumental. Mesmerizing. 10/10

2. Dawn Of A Million Souls - Wow, what amazing vocals. The chorus is one of the best Ayreon chorus' I have ever heard. 10/10

3. Journey On The Waves Of Time - Some odd but cool arrangements. Killer vocals. 8/10

4. To The Quasar - The first part is pretty cool and well done. The main riff in the 2nd part is mammothly heavy. The chorus is pure cheese. 9/10

5. Into The Black Hole - How the hell did Arjen get Bruce Dickinson. We'll never know really. Quite dramatic. Great vocal performance. 9/10

6. Through The Wormhole - Musically it sounds like Steve Vai. Pretty cool vocals, although Fabian can do way better. 8/10

7. Out Of The White Hole - Great chorus and some kick ass guitar and organ work. Great vocals from Timo. 10/10

8. To The Solar System - Nice wee chorus, but a wee bit forgetful. 8/10

9. The New Migrator - Pretty epic ending. Great vocals and some kick ass riffs. 9/10

CONCLUSION: 2 albums are great, but this one is just a wee bit weaker. Both are worth the price, especially because you get 2 for the price of one, imagine that.

arcane-beautiful | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this AYREON review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives