Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Nexus - Perpetuum Karma CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

4.05 | 147 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

erik neuteboom
Prog Reviewer
5 stars I had very high expectations towards this new Nexus album, due their mindblowing previous studio album entitled Metanoia and their excellent contribution to the 3-CD The Odyssey The Greatest Tale, also featuring bands like Glass Hammer, Tempano, CAP, Simon Says and Minimum Vital. Yesterday evening my wife phoned me on my work that I had finally received their new album, this is the best news I have heard from her since many years!

1. Mirar Hacia El Centro (17:28) : After a dreamy intro with soaring synthesizers, birds sounds and acoustic guitar, suddenly Nexus treats us on a heavy sound featuring sumptuous Hammonnd organ and biting wah-wah guitar, a very exciting opening! Then lots of shifting moods, we can enjoy great Hammond work (Keith Emerson 'rules'!) along a delicate piece with Fender piano and melancholical vocals and aninterlude with fragile guitar and mellow organ.

2. Perpetuum Karma (14:56) : The titletrack is a huge tribute to Keith Emerson with sensational work on Hammond and Moog. Halfway the guitarplayer delivers fiery and howling runs and I also enjoyed the combination of melancholical vocals and the strings sound, very pleasant.

3. Del Abismo Al Sol (9:50) : This is a dreamy song that contains a tasteful keyboard colouring (warm strings, fat Moog flights, Fender piano runs and swinging Hammond), warm vocals and 'freak-out' guitarwork. At some moment the music reminds me of the song Ice by Camel, also very compelling with moving guitarplay!

4. Travesía (9:12) : This alternating and captivating instrumental composition features lots of interesting music, from a swinging rhtyhm with Hammond and a dreamy part with spacey synthesizers to lush Hammond and Moog with propulsive guitar work. The interplay is strong and the build-up great to a beautiful climax featuring a sensitive guitar solo with exciting use of the wah-wah pedal, impressive!

5. Cruces Y Sombras (14:00) : Again a long, alternating an captivating song, from the short intro with an Inca flute sound and a propulsive rhythm with powerful Hammond runs to compelling bombastic prog that carries me to Progheaven, what a wonderful lush keyboards and sensitive guitar.

6. En Ese Viento (6:44) : While most of this album has ELP hints, this track has echoes from mid-Genesis featuring twanging guitars and frequent use of the volume pedal on his guitar. It starts dreamy, than more and more lush featuring a bombastic climax, first with propulsive guitar riffs and biting wah-wah and eventually with wonderful keyboards, again I am in Progheaven!

To me this new Nexus album sounds as splendid Classic Seventies Symphonic Prog inspired music with obvious hints from ELP and Genesis, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

erik neuteboom | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this NEXUS review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives