Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Mike Rutherford - Acting Very Strange CD (album) cover


Mike Rutherford


Prog Related

1.70 | 93 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

1 stars #29 Review

I expected to go on here and just say "This album is bad, end of review" but i just can't do that, but lets start with the basics, the title of this album and cover make this look embarrasing... like, why was this even released? Who said that this was ok?

Then when you know that he is singing, that sounds a little interesting, but if you're like me and have followed Genesis a little too much, you should already know that he doesn't sing well, so whatever pop he ever attempted here is going to fail atleast to some degree because his voice just doesn't work.

1.- Acting Very Strange 5/10 A harmless 80s sounding song, not very special, just average. Reminds me a little of Genesis B-Side You Might Recall, except that one is much better.

2.- A Day to Remember 3/10 Now the voice is getting annoying, the rythm is ok but even more repetitive than the previous theme.

3.- Maxine 2/10 A single? Why this one? The first theme is much better than this one! This one even reminds of Who Dunnit? for some reason, and thats horrible.

4.- Halfway There 5/10 Nice name, its like telling me "You're halfway through this nightmare, you're almost there!", i thought that Maxine was pretty bad and that we can't go worst than that, and this one is better, it sounds like a less spectacular The Police.

5.- Who's Fooling who? 4/10 He has some good ideas here, and in almost every song just a little set of ideas that he could use later, i don't know though, i don't listen to Mike + The Mechanics and i don't have an urgent need too, that group isn't even on this web page, it's a surprise that this album is here though. This song is another average 80s schlock.

6.- Couldn't Be Arrested 2/10 Illegal Alien beta... that song is not good and this one is even less than that. The vocals and repetition ruin this song even more than the boring chorus idea itself.

7.-I Don't Wanna Know 2/10 Starts a little interesting and dies with the vocals and repetition, just like before. In the midle it has a little ugly change.

8.- Hideaway 7/10 This could've been a Genesis song... with a little more development that is, but really, this song is a surprise, a beautyful song in a horribly lackluster album, this song has been lost to the ages. Its as if something professional was finally done in this album. I'm going to cry, all of this was like a journey through weird, boring and average stuff and finally found a really pretty theme, unexpected. The last minute made it winner of a 7, because otherwise, the theme was a little repetitive.

I really ended surprised here, with the last song, wich i recommend. Acting Very Strange and Halfway There where decent at best... i mean, the last song made me look at the album a little different, but sadly at the end of the day it gets a 38/100, an score that gets my lowest ranking so far.

FalconBleck | 1/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this MIKE RUTHERFORD review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.