Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
The Who - Endless Wire CD (album) cover


The Who



2.88 | 84 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

2 stars The Concept Album Part 3

To be honest, not many people know of this album, mainly because it wasn't memorable.

Yea, this album was alright I suppose, their was some effort on the behalf of Roger & Pete, but we all know they could do way better.

Their was some alright moments, and some songs had their moments, but they were mainly ruined by bad choices.

It is by far the worst album they ever made, but it still proved they have enough abillity to still make music, which is kind of a relief.

I was impressed that most of instruments where played by Pete himself, which isn't bad for a 60 year old. : The concept makes no sense to me.

1. Fragments - I like the odd synth arrpegios. Nice arrangment. 8/10

2. A Man In A Purple Dress - The guitar playing at times is flawed. Good lyrics though. 8/10

3. Mike Post Theme - I like the chage in dynamics throughtout. Roger's vocals are quite good for his age. 9/10

4. In The Ether - What could have been a great song is ruined by forced vocals which make it sound like a joke. The musical arrangment is amazing though. 8/10

5. Black Widow's Eyes - Some nice classic Who moments with some nice dramtic arrangments. 9/10

6. 2000 Years - The mandolin work is nice. Roger's vocals are at times pitchy. 7/10

7. God Speaks Of Marty Robins - It does sound a bit like Marty Robins (I have an odd past with his music). Nice arrangment. 8/10

8. It's Not Enough - Reminds me of Spinal Tap. Roger's vocals are quite good. Good enough song. 8/10

9. You Stand By Me - Classic Who instrumentally. Nice chorus. 8/10

Wire & Glass: A Mini Opera

10. Sound Round - Good start, gets you to pay attention, haha. 8/10

11. Pick Up The Peace - Nice and sweet. Good enough chorus. 7/10

12. Unholy Trinity - The accompaniment is nice. The vocal melody is very bland and plain. The vocals are also very pitchy. 5/10

13. Trilby's Piano - The arrangment is very beautiful. The vocals at times can be quite weak, and at times are really well done. 9/10

14. Endless Wire - Good build up. Very bland though. 6/10

15. Fragments Of Fragments - I like the return of the crazy synth riff. Reminds me of Kraftwerk. 9/10

16. We Got A Hit - Great chorus. Best song on the album. 10/10

17. They Made My Dream Come True - I'm liking the melancholic tone of the song. 9/10

18. Mirror Door - Nice and dramatic. Good chorus. Reminds me of a Rogers Waters song. 8/10

19. Tea & Theatre - Very weak and very boring. 4/10

CONCLUSION: Doens't live up to Who standards. The weakest concept album out of the 3, and their weakest album all together.

arcane-beautiful | 2/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this THE WHO review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives