Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Queen - The Miracle CD (album) cover




Prog Related

3.20 | 357 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars I've been a Queen fan for quite a long time. but...well... i have known them since 1992 so i have never seen them live in the original line up, but i have seen them with paul rodgers and it was fantastic!

the miracle is one of the albums that is quite underated, because there is no album that could be better than a night at the opera.

there are some people saying "this is the worst Queen studio album - toghether with hot space" . i think it is one of the best albums in Queens history. it features a lot of hits and a lot of good pieces of music.

as it was shown in a kind of magic the band is still able to rock. in this release the rock roots of this band are are stronger. nearly the whole album is very heavy and quite dark. (it is no "miracle" that the follower "innuendo" will be the first real heavy record after Queen 2)

1) party is a funny song. Queen is joking around, singing disharmonic and not in tune. the drumbeat is a loop from the drummashine... i think the producer of the record, david richards, has done a brilliant job.

2) kharshoggis ship is another rock song (by the way: there is no break between party and this one). the band seems to have just fun in the studio. there are no instrumental overdubbs, so this must be a recorded jamsession. nice!

3) the miracle is a song by freddie mercury (even if the credit is "Queen" ) . it was the time when freddie mercury was very ill. this song and especially the lyrics are so optimistic and positiv .... hey: this man knows he has to die in the following years. i could not write such lyrics, when i know i have to die because of aids! by the way: the music is quite proggy aswell! great song!

4) i want it all. this is the classic peace of this album. this hard rock song by brian may is known by every rockfan. so i don't have to explain it that much.

5) the invisible man again is very groovy funky bit. i like it. it is very danceable and ... it reminds me of force 10 by rush.... (the video is made by a genius!)

6) welcome to side no. 2. breakthru: as the invisible man is over breakthru is rolling over! wow! what a song. again a roger taylor comosition (as in "the invible man" ) this song is quite groove, fast and rocks very good. the idea to put a train into the video is not that bad! great song again featuring a superb chorus!

7) now...welcome to the weaker ones! rain must fall is an undynamic, boring and relaxed song.... maybe just a but too relaxed.... a skipper!

8) scandal again is quite good. a darker tune with some great sound effects! again, a brilliant effort of david richards! this song is dedicatet to the press that is getting on Queen's nerves because of freddie's desease ( has not been official, that freddie mercury was hiv positiv)

9) my baby does me. the same as rain must fall... the only difference is: the lyric are dull, aswell...(i'm sorry, but this is not one of your killer songs)

10) the killer song that is closing the album is a very good one! i don't want to wite too much about it, just listen to it! (you can download it here!)

Conclusion: this album is featuring 8 great songs and 2 not so great songs, but it does not matter: the miracle is worth buying, because of features a lot of great music! maybe not that much prog as it should be - to be listed in the great progarchives!

| 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this QUEEN review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives