Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Et Cetera - Et Cetera CD (album) cover

ET CETERA

Et Cetera

Eclectic Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
loserboy
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars ET CETERA" were a 5 piece Canadian prog rock band who were really into GENTLE GIANT! Try to imagine a Quebecois version of GENTLE GIANT, with a female singer, then you pretty much know exactly what these guys sound like. This band blend syncopated prog passages with GENTLE GIANT-like vocalizations/ acappela accents and GROBSCHNITT-like charm prowess. Instrumentation utilized is quite vast actually and includes flutes, vibraphones, drums, bass, violin, guitar and piano. The musicianship here is fantastic with nice warm tones and offers excellent speaker separation.
Report this review (#18277)
Posted Sunday, March 21, 2004 | Review Permalink
Steve Hegede
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars Man, these guys were really into GENTLE GIANT! If you can imagine a French version of GENTLE GIANT, with a female singer, then you pretty much know exactly what these guys sound like. This 5-piece band released their only album in 1976. Along with the traditional rock set-up, a few of the musicians also play flute, sax, vibes, and even an Ondes Martenot (an early synth also used by Edgar Varese). Although I'm always looking for some originality from these obscure prog bands, I have to admit enjoying many of the clone bands. The music here reaches the technical heights, and quality, of the mighty GIANT.
Report this review (#18278)
Posted Sunday, March 21, 2004 | Review Permalink
5 stars "Who came first...the egg..or the hen?"...im really tired of the tag´s: "Clone" or " Neo- prog" etc. Yes i know,ive used them myself along the way in reviews. But hey guys and gals....shouldnt we just recognise the music for what it is....after all, its progmusic.... good or bad,special or indifferent...even superb. Everbody in musichistory has listened to someone from the past,present.... leaned on....were inspired by....reconstructed- an item.....bottom line is.....let us listen to the music,without...i almost said prejudice.. now, enough of this....here i have the absolute beautiful album from: ET CETERA ...that is the canadian group (There´s a Danish prog group,with the exact same name) This gem from 1976 (courtesy of the excellent Shroom records)are re-released....and.. ....its an absolute stunner...inspired (there it is...inspired.. is much more positive,than "clone" or...whatever)by the wonderful,enigmatic and supreme Gentle Giant!! Its all here...the complex counterpoints...the vocal arrangements (only on this cd its a female voice..who´s in the lead...namely:Marie bernard Pagé) everything on this album is absolutely supreme. There are guitars when needed...lots of keyboards... and..ohhh.did i mention those wonderful vocal arrangements. IN ALL...this is an absolute GEM...for everyone that loves progmusic...especially from the seventies!!! ET CETERA... its a must!!! Its a 5 star!!! Its a masterpiece !!
Report this review (#18279)
Posted Saturday, June 12, 2004 | Review Permalink
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
4 stars Of course , there is a lot of Gentle Giant influences here and they are not trying to hide them. My colleague reviewer Larz says that this is a clone , and yes , it is probably one, and a damn good one at that ( even the 70's had their fair share of them ). But most clone bands actually don't reach the height and perfection of their model. This album would rank as a GG album along with Interview in quality and for the tone Octopus . The multi-vocals harmonies and complex playing are the pinnacle of what came out from Quebec in those years ( from 74 to 79 , there was an incredibly vital prog scene in that province where the rest of Canada seemed more inclined on hard rock ) but as much as this is beautyful , this also lacks personnality and a little soul . Very much worth a spin , though.
Report this review (#18280)
Posted Monday, July 12, 2004 | Review Permalink
Cesar Inca
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Mostly known as the Quebecois Gentle Giant, Et Cetera certainly manages to make out the best of their major influences and come up with something refreshing and creative that they can properly call their own. Sure these guys were totally interested in delicate dissonances and intricate polyphony, and their compositions contain lots of classical and jazzy elements in a prog rock context, but all in all there is a certain cadence in their music, built on an eerie delicateness, that stands as an original EC factor: I don't know quite how to explain it intelligently, but I feel it that way. The male- female vocal dialogues and counterpoints are simply delicious, and so are the interplays built by the lead guitarist and the two keyboardists. Dragon handles craftily the complex rhythm patterns with his solid, precise drumming, while bassist Pigeon combine his partnership with Dragon and his inputs for the melodic stuff contributed by his other fellow members. The first two tracks overtly show the listener what the band's artistic ideology is all about, and so do 'Newton Avait Raison' and the exquisite closure 'Tandem'. The usual progressive pretentiousness is there, but it is not taken to an excessively pompous level: delicateness seems to be the main rule of Et Cetera's game. 'Entre Chien et Loup' has a beautiful pastoral intro that soon gives way to one of the jazziest motifs in the albums; things go on softly and fluidly until the intro is reprised for the conclusion part. 'L'Age Dort' is the most bizarre piece in the album: synth layers and guitar arpeggios spread under the ticking of a vibraphone and a piano, with a floating cello providing touches of solemnity, and some soft percussives cutting the air of mystic stillness in order to introduce a Renaissance-inspired motif somewhere in the middle. The catchiest stuff is contained in the energetic instrumental 'Apostrophe', which also comprises some of Marchand's best soloing. What a great album! - so weird, so inscrutable, and so fabulous, that it can only be rated as any other prog excellent work: 4 - 4 1/2 stars.

Report this review (#18281)
Posted Wednesday, February 23, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars Well,if there ever was a clone as good as original,this is it.Et cetera sounds so much like Gentle Giant it's scary!Having said that I have to admit that this is probably my favourite Canadian prog-album of all times.Music flows so effortlesly, performance is flawless and sound is excellent.Only thing different from GG are vocals,although multilayered like with their british counterparts,they lack energy to make this album even better.There is little bit more of a light-jazz coloration mixed with obligatory classical influence that makes this record outstanding when compared to similar albums produced at the time.Too bad this is only record from this Quebec band,we can only assume that this band could've get more attention from prog-fans world wide if they recorded more albums.Essential work,and highly recommended .4,5 stars!

Report this review (#54846)
Posted Saturday, November 5, 2005 | Review Permalink
b_olariu
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars First, i'm not comparing Et Cetera with Gentle Giant because i don't want, there is similarity but is not in my view here, second i try to be as much as i can good in review on this one. So my first impression was very good. I think this is a inovative album from the 70, because the album had everything to became a classic in this genre. Another beautiful thing about this band is that the voice is in french. Every musicians is sure of his instrument, and they create an ambicious album. it's a shame that the band split after this one and only one they ever released, but they know bettet than me wich was the problem . In another way this is an intelligent album, and has is own grace. The multi vocals harmonies, complex playing made Et Cetera to became for me, if not for prog music a classic in this genre. Also they have an arsenal of instruments: includes flutes, vibraphones, drums, bass, violin, guitar and piano who makes the music sounds very smooth but in the same time very technical. In the end a good one in every way, the entire album is complex and splendid so i can't choose a track or two to be the best. my rate is 5 stars, a masterpiece of progressive music, recommended
Report this review (#78480)
Posted Wednesday, May 17, 2006 | Review Permalink
memowakeman
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Et Cetera from Canada!

Some years ago i was talking to a friend from Guatemala whose radio show i used to listen everyweek since we have alike tastes and the show was a prog one of course, he told me , Memo have you listened to Et Cetera? the answer was no and he didnt hesitate in saying that i should get their album because i would like it.

Said and done, i got their music and pff, i was pleased since the very first moment. So there was this unique band from Quebec, knowing some other superb bands from Quebec (Maneige or Harmonium) i knew this would not let me down. I dont really know their bio or history, i just know they decided to make a project of just one year, when they created their music and only self-titled album.

That is how i came up with this album, which features 7 songs and a total time of 37 minutes. Kicking off with Et La Musique Tourne, is not a secret (if you have read the previous reviews) that Gentle Giant were their biggest influence, it is noticeable since the very first moments, this band combines both male and female vocals, despite the GG inspired music, there are lots of symph-keys in the album. Eclaircie starts with the guitar, then bass then drums and then vocals harmonies totally a la Gentle Giant, the difference are the female vocals and the keyboard playing, which makes this band unique and not a GG clone at all. Entre Chien Et Loup starts in a more classical way, acoustic guitars and flute giving us a great musical passage, that was just the prelude to the great vocals and odd bass playing, pure avant-gardism made properly by this quebecois band, the musical arrangements are pretty good. With Apostrophe the classical and baroque feeling is back mainly due to the additional flute sound accompanying the acoustic guitars, after that intro the song becomes led by the moog which of course makes it more symphonic oriented, there are some moments that reminds me to Yes. Newton Avait Raison is probably the song that better describes their influence, i mean this song is so GG, it is just obvious, the time and tempo along with the instrumentation, you will see what i mean when you listen to it. L`Arge Dort has a kind of dark intro, like in a horror movie scene, but almost immediately it turs softer and beautiful with a delicate violin sound along with male clean vocals, nice and comfortable music. To finish the album we have Tandem with a soft beginnign and later a bit rockier, the interplay between the instruments is wonderful, excellent closer.

So this was an excellent release by a one-album band, which as i said above shows in an obvious way their influences and inspirations, though they put their own touch in order to make this a unique piece of work. Highly recommendable, of course Gentle Giant fans must listen to this. My grade 4 stars, excellent addition to any prog lover.

Enjoy it!

Report this review (#172204)
Posted Sunday, May 25, 2008 | Review Permalink
Gooner
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars If you're a Gentle Giant fan, you have to hear this. OCTOPUS meets FREEHAND with female french vocals from Marie Bernard Pagé that are not unlike those on Stereolab's EMPEROR TOMATO KETCHUP. Bothered that GG virtually abandoned prog.rock after the completion of side 2 of _The Missing Piece_? Well, here's your long lost Gentle Giant album! These guys are freakishly like Gentle Giant to the point where they out- Giant the Gentle Giant at times. Musicianship is top notch. No real outstanding tracks, although _Apostrophe_ is a fine instrumental(it's Et Cetera's BOYS IN THE BAND). Counterpoint vocals all over this, even the Minnear like back-up. Having praised Et Cetera, this only gets 3 stars for obvious reasons. This is hardly original material, but boy can they play! Highly recommended for Gentle Giant fans. Simply a must own for musicianship alone.
Report this review (#199698)
Posted Sunday, January 18, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars Et Cetera are far from mere Gentle Giant clones. I admit there are many superficial similarities to GG and they use many tricks that that band pioneered, but Et Cetera manage to create an entirely unique mood and atmosphere on this album. The sound is lush, warm, and soothing; led by the hypnotic lilting voice of Marie Bernard Page and some amazingly tight and intricate ensemble playing from every member.

'La Musique Tourne' is perhaps the one song on the album that follows most closely Gentle Giant's blueprint; it starts very similarly to 'Prologue' from Three Friends. This is mostly up-tempo pseudo-jazz featuring lots of complex musical counterpoint, syncopation, and abrupt timing shifts. The French vocals create an airy dream-like ambiance and there are sections of wonderful warm Moog playing among the highlights.

'Éclaircie' has even more labyrinthian vocal counterpoint than the first track. The male background vocals compliment the gentle female vocals very well and together they create gorgeous (yet confounding) harmonies all over this record. It's a real dichotomy how the music can feel so gentle and graceful yet have so much bizarre musical experimentation going on at the same time. That is definitely the biggest factor is making this band stand out from behind Gentle Giant's shadow.

'L'Age Dort' is my favorite song here. It's the quietest, most lithe and dreamlike. The vocal melodies have an air of melancholy in them as well... it can not be overstated how tear-jerkingly beautiful and chilling this singer's voice is.

All in all, this is almost a perfect album and is full of inventive ideas and excellent songwriting and playing. I would obviously recommend this most strongly to Gentle Giant fans, but also to Stereolab fans and French Symphonic Prog fans. I believe most Proggers could get into this quite easily actually... unless they happen to dislike music sung in the French language. This album seems to get better with each and every listen and never grows old! 4 stars.

Report this review (#201924)
Posted Friday, February 6, 2009 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Both the instrumental work and vocal arrangements bring GENTLE GIANT to mind in a huge way. The big difference of course is the French female vocals (there are male vocals too). As impressive as this band plays and sings they do not reach GG's level in either case in my opinion. Good album, but for me it's not worth 4 stars. Funny but right from the first listen I could not get into this. Well it has grown on me but it has stopped.

"La Musique Tourne" sounds great instrumentally, you'd swear it was a GENTLE GIANT tune. Not a big fan when she starts to sing as it calms down though.The contrasts continue. "Eclaircie" opens with some good guitar and bass as piano and drums join in followed by keys. Male and female vocals before 1 1/2 minutes sounding like GG. It settles a minute later. Synths 3 1/2 minutes in. "Entre Chien Et Loup" opens with classical guitar followed by flute then those GG-like dual vocals. I like how intricate this is instrumentally. Vibes in this one too. "Apostrophe" is laid back and a bit folksy with that acoustic guitar and flute. It picks up a minute in with synths. Nice electric guitar before 3 minutes. Piano 4 1/2 minutes in. Excellent track.

"Newton Avait Raison" opens with some synths, guitar and drums. The focus becomes on the vocals though eventually, although synths are prominant. Not a fan of this one. "L'Age Dort" is darker with some cello. Male vocals after a minute then flute comes in. Female vocals before 2 minutes. Themes are repeated. "Tandem" opens with piano as dual vocals come in. The tempo picks up before a minute. Organ before 3 minutes with guitar to follow as piano continues. It turns spacey late.

I can see why there are lots of 4 star ratings here, but it's not enjoyable enough for me to offer that up.

Report this review (#204261)
Posted Tuesday, February 24, 2009 | Review Permalink
5 stars Lots of fun to listen to. Et Cetera gets to the point early, with the magnificent opening two songs. Dynamic and cerebral, yet accessible and easy on the ears. The presence of a female vocalists adds a jazzy element, with throaty, whispy voices propelling the music. Brilliant instrumental passages intertwine the dynamic flow that links song to song.

Perhaps it is the Gentle Giant record they never recorded. I hear strains of King Crimson as well, plus even a little Canterbury. Plus other fusioneer sounds make an appearance like what Jan Hammer was doing at the time, and the local jazzrock scene in French Canada molds Et Cetera's sound here.

Happy times for this brief record that's tough to get a hold of. I like it and I think fringe prog listeners might too. It's brevity appeals to me and while the end isn't the fireworks I think should end a true classic, it's five bold stars for me nonetheless.

Report this review (#696382)
Posted Wednesday, March 28, 2012 | Review Permalink
Menswear
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars Oh WOw!

Who can get enough Gentle Giant? Anyone? You in the back?...What?...I tought so. Nobody can! It's mathematically impossible to not want a new Gentle Giant album. But the reality is what it is, we can only gorge ourselves on emulation. But when it's good as Et Cetera, you have a fantastic gem in your hands.

They are not emulating Gentle Giant, they ARE a french-canadian reincarnation. No kidding, they simply took the essence of an era (Power and Glory-In a Glass House-Free Hand) and made it as potable as the Legends themselves...with a chick singing. It'sl only a detail because the female voice is not clashing with the formula that we all know and love. It's simply another album from Gentle Giant, period.

The canadian province of Quebec was a playground for Gentle Giant and this band is showing it's respect and (almost devotion) to the band extremely well. Any (real) fan should purchase this record within this hour and drink to the fan-tas-tic work of Et Cetera.

One true surprise.

Report this review (#849169)
Posted Friday, November 2, 2012 | Review Permalink
progpositivity
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars Talk about putting quality above quantity! This Canadian quintet only released one album containing less than 39 minutes of material. Oh but what an album it is!

All of the classic Gentle Giant stylistic elements are here in abundance: layered vocal harmonies with occasional hocketing, abundant polyphony, counterpoint and syncopation...There are some key differences however:

1) In contrast to Gentle Giant's urgently throaty vocalist Derek Shulman, Etcetera's vocals float breezily, sometimes even feeling lighter than air...

2) Listening to GG, I usually get the feeling that their keyboardist Kerry Minnear was not only the primary composer, but also the main arranger and conductor for the band. Remove his singular musical thread from the fabric of Gentle Giant and I suspect the entire tapestry unravels. Et Cetera, on the other hand, feels more evenly matched from member to member. This enables them to exude a calm, almost effortless effervescence as they perform their own unique, calmer and more ethereal brand of Gentle Giant's progressive rock style.

It is worth remembering, however, that although they accomplish astounding heights of complexity and beauty that rival and at times even surpass much of Gentle Giant's discography, without the seminal and inspirational styling of Kerry Minnear, the fabric of this band's music wouldn't simply falter, it is hard to imagine it ever having even existed in the first place.

Report this review (#1177957)
Posted Wednesday, May 21, 2014 | Review Permalink
siLLy puPPy
COLLABORATOR
PSIKE, JR/F/Canterbury & Eclectic Teams
5 stars Not to be confused with the German Krautrock band led by Wolfgang Dauner who first used this name for a band or the Danish symphonic prog band Etcetera which emerged in the 90s, this ET CETERA was an eclectic high energy band from Quebec, Canada which formed and disbanded in a blink of an eye in the mid 70s and left only this one outstanding gem of an album (self-titled) in 1976 to prove that this band ever existed. And what an album this is. Their sole release was put out on the Apostrophe label.

The main inspiration for this band was Gentle Giant which covers the entire spectrum of the first half of GG's career. The hard rock riffs remind me of the "In A Glass House" album while the mellower acoustic guitar parts can bring earlier albums such as "Acquiring The Taste" to mind, however it should be stressed that despite using GG as a primary influence this band excels beyond those parameters and includes a plethora of classic prog bands in the mix. It melds it all together so perfectly that this album has become a staple in my frequent listening. I can honestly say that this is one of the few albums that i can listen to and immediately listen to again and again and never get tired of.

While the music is based on GG as a reference, this is a perfect marriage of GG's style with symphonic prog. There are ELP-esque synth runs, Yes inspired piano riffs that would fit in on early Wakeman albums but the soft sensual vocals form Marie Bernard Pagé sung in French bring a lightness to the music which sounds more like the Quebecois sounds of Harmonium who resided nearby in both time and place. There are airy pastoral segments that remind of early Genesis and also tender vibraphone segments that can bring a touch of jazz fusion into the mix.

One of the most unique aspects of this album was the inclusion of the Ondes Martenot which is an obscure and little used instrument in the rock world which is similar to the theremin. Although it has been used in the classical world by composers such as Honegger, Milhaud and Varese, ET CETERA remain unique for its use in the entire rock universe. The instrument is used in tandem with the synthesizers and provides some unique pitch bends that come and go unexpectedly adding a whole new dimension to the music.

Really what we have here is a band who took the baton from GG as they were simplifying their music as were many a prog band at this point, but unlike, say Starcastle who simply took over the classic Yes sound, ET CETERA took the next logical step from "Free Hand" and created an album that incorporated the GG playbook and upped the eclecticness even further. The result is a stunning array of tunes that keep the listener engaged for every single second of its short 36:02 run. With a healthy wealth of both influences and originality on board with this one, it has in a short time become one of my desert isle picks for i can listen to this over and over again and only dream of a much longer discography that followed.

Report this review (#1369265)
Posted Sunday, February 15, 2015 | Review Permalink
FragileKings
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars It recently came to my attention that Québec had a very robust prog scene going on in the seventies. I found a web site that explained how British prog, the aristocracy of British pop, ironically found its biggest Canadian audience in Francophone Québec at the height of the Separatist movement. Gentle Giant, Genesis, Pink Floyd and the other big bands of the classic period of prog garnered their biggest album sales and sold out more concerts in la belle province.

Naturally, many Francophone musicians had to try their own hands and lips at progressive music. Harmonium have left the biggest impression with their album "Si on avait besoin d'une cinqui'm saison", an album often cited among prog fans' favourite albums. But there were many other excellent bands, including Et Cetera, who unfortunately only released one album. One very excellent 70's prog album.

The web site ProgQuebec states that Et Cetera sound most similar to Gentle Giant, and it's true that their vocal arrangements do strongly resemble Gentle Giant's syncopated medieval approach. The music too often sounds like something Gentle Giant would do. But I'm also hearing some Gryphon and perhaps a bit of ELP, too. Their use of a Moog in "Eclaircie" reminds me a bit of Colosseum II with Don Airey. And perhaps it comes as no surprise to find certain similarities to Rock Progressivo Italiano, though my experience there is currently limited to a few albums.

All classically trained musicians, Et Cetera distinguish themselves from their musical mentors by adding their own personal touches. First of all, the guitar solos sound more solid rock than what I've heard in RPI and the band can steer into a harder hitting rock style when they want. Their vocal approach does sound inspired by Gentle Giant often enough; however, one lead vocalist is Marie Bernard Pagé, so with a female vocalist sharing lead, they can avoid sounding like a copy of their British inspirations. Marie is also known for playing an unusual instrument known as an Ondes Martenot (a kind of early electronic keyboard instrument) and was invited to play it on Harmonium's famous album. Another obvious distinguishing aspect would be the French lyrics.

The music shifts from quirky eclectic prog to more rocky core prog to acoustic to grooving rock with frequent Moog appearances, as well as tasteful piano passages. In a way, it's just like you'd expect a true prog album from the seventies to sound: something groovy, something light, something quirky, something hard, something daring, something rooted in classical. It's actually quite a shame this band only released one album because they did a stellar job, and I can say the recording quality here is top notch. No muddy mixes. No quicksand tape hiss. Everything crisp and distinguishable.

Francophone bands in Québec had a tough time in the seventies. Singing only in French won them support from Separatists and made them heroes in French Canada but made it tough for them to find an audience beyond in Anglophonic Canada or the big American market. When some bands tried to record English albums, though, they were criticized and derided at home. Perhaps the Separatists in the end helped snuff out the flame of Québec prog in the seventies by forcing them to stay French. Or maybe it continued to survive and I just haven't found out yet.

Highly recommended for fans of eclectic seventies prog, particularly if you enjoy non-English lyrics. Actually I give this album 4.5 stars.

Report this review (#1520871)
Posted Wednesday, January 27, 2016 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars One-album wonders from the Quebec scene, Et Cetera combine the intricate vocals and the whimsical playfulness of Gentle Giant, the excellent technical chops and diversions into jazziness of the more intricate Canterbury or jazz-rock fusion groups, and an overall excellent command of atmosphere and mood. With much of the band contributing to the vocals, the standout instrumental performance for me comes from electronics wizard Marie Bernard Pagé, who shares keyboard duties with the group's saxophonist-flutist Denis Chartrand, and whose delicate contributions really bring the sound of the album together much as Dave Stewart's keyboards tie together the work of Hatfield and the North or National Health. (Marie had previously had a guest spot on Harmonium's Cinq Saison, and would go on to have a fairly successful career composing soundtracks for film and television.)
Report this review (#1774435)
Posted Wednesday, August 23, 2017 | Review Permalink
patrickq
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Et Cetera can fairly be called a menagerie, a zoo of influences. It's like being bustled through a series of crazy animal exhibits at a claustrophobic amusement park. It's stunning at times, and the whole thing is admirably absurd, making an occasional visit quite enjoyable.

Eclecticism between songs is de rigueur in progressive rock. Thus, on Et Cetera, songs like "La Musique Tourne" ("The Music Turns," according to Google Translate) and "Apostrophe" are built around relatively accessible rock passages, while "Entre Chien Et Loup" ("Between Dog and Wolf"), with its acoustic guitar and flutes, is more pastoral. But Et Cetera is marked by eclecticism within songs as well. For instance, "Éclaircie" ("Rift") stars off with a vaguely Crimsonian intro. It then alternates between analog synth-based parts some of which remind me of a video-game arcade, and Gentle-Giant-like vocal sections similar to those on "La Musique Tourne." There's also bassline that sounds like "Kings and Queens" by pre-Halsam Renaissance.

But the influences seem to work both ways on Et Cetera, which, its credits note, was recorded in August 1976. The rhythmic vocals, such as on "La Musique Tourne" and "Éclaircie," are akin to those on the Greaves/Blegvad/Herman album Kew. Rhone. , which was recorded a few months later. That intro on "Éclaircie" that sounds like King Crimson actually sounds like Discipline-era Crimson (i.e., from the early 1980s). It's tough for me to gauge the influence of Et Cetera on other artists; certainly a mutual inspiration is likely in the case of Kew. Rhone.

Here's another example. The keyboards on "Newton Avait Raison" ("Newton had Reason") sound influenced by Rick Wakeman's work with Yes, but on closer inspection, they don't really sound like Wakeman in his first stint with that band (1971-1974) - - they sound like Wakeman after he re-joined Yes In 1977. My point is not that Et Cetera changed Rick Wakeman's sound, or that it was essential to the development of Discipline, Beat, and Three of a Perfect Pair. But it seems like Et Cetera is more than a reflection of pre-1976 progressive rock.

(For what it's worth, answering the question of influence may be rather simple. At least two online sources, which may not be mutually independent, claim that Et Cetera (the band) was self-avowedly following in Gentle Giant's footsteps. Nonetheless, I hear Focus and other bands too.)

Et Cetera is a fun stopover at an odd fair. Worth having if you can find an inexpensive copy or download (I got my download at emusic before they lost a ton of labels, including the distributor of Et Cetera).

Report this review (#2165353)
Posted Wednesday, March 13, 2019 | Review Permalink

ET CETERA Et Cetera ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of ET CETERA Et Cetera


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — jazz music reviews and archives | MetalMusicArchives.com — metal music reviews and archives