Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Brian Eno - Another Day On Earth CD (album) cover

ANOTHER DAY ON EARTH

Brian Eno

Progressive Electronic


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
4 stars Not as creative or quirky as earlier vocal work, this is Eno just after he discovered the Vocoder. It took him a little longer than everyone else, but that's OK. This is Eno we're talking about! A collection of delightful songs from one of the foremost contributors to music from the 20th and 21st centuries. All that from a self-styled 'non-musician'!
Report this review (#35846)
Posted Thursday, June 9, 2005 | Review Permalink
soundsweird
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Another one of those albums that I keep thinking will grow on me. Come to think of it, I thought the same thing about "Nerve Net", "Wrong Way Up" (with John Cale), and "Passengers" (with the members of U2). And when I listen to this album, I hear bits that remind me of all of those albums, but nothing that reminds me of the first four vocal albums ("Here Come the Warm Jets" through "Before and After Science"). Fortunately, there is one song on the album that I think ranks up there with some of his best: "How Many Worlds". It's got a sound and feel that is unlike anything else on the album. There are several other tracks that have attractive elements, but there's always something in each that I find too "average". For instance, a few tracks have great arrangements, but the music and lyrics are too simplistic. Melodies take a back seat to the "groove". Then there's the issue of the treated vocals. The vocoder was invented back in the 70's, and it seems that nobody can come up with a vocal treatment that sounds much different from that hokey cliche. The treatments here are nothing new, and they detract from the overall quality of the songs in which they appear. Of course, higher expectations always accompany the arrival of a new Brian Eno album, so a "good" product is bound to result in disappointment. Because Eno has his hand in so many projects these days, it's possible that he just cannot spend enough time on each album to produce another masterpiece.
Report this review (#44293)
Posted Thursday, August 25, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars This is Brian Eno in his very best form. First we must recognize that all artists, poets and composers are influenced by various forces through the course of their careers. Like the many masters before him, Brian Eno has taken his life experience and laid it on the line. Here we have a frightening yet beautiful vision of the world, "The Earth," that surrounds us in the year 2005. Using many of the elements that he has experimented with in his previous works, Eno has created poetry for our time. The thought that the world we live in is now as fragile as a free falling egg, fascinates the "thinking listener" of this master work. I have read many reviews of this work and it seems that everyone is trying to compare this to many of Eno's previous recordings. Wrong! This work is the culmination of a career of testing, experimenting, influencing, and proving that artists are alive, well and unbeliveably human. Like the great Salvador Dali, Eno says it as he sees it with clarrity and mystery walking hand in hand. If you are a serious listener of "thinking mans music" one must admit that this piece is about the world we live in. Fascinating! If you would like to listen to the man behind the music you should put some time into the streaming interview that can be found in the media section of this albums website. Yes this album has a website that is as provacative as the music itself. The website is there to satisfy the listener that has a burning desire to learn more about Brian Eno's mature approach to creating a thought that stops you dead in your tracks! Get it and yes please listen listen listen listen...
Report this review (#48991)
Posted Wednesday, September 28, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars I'm not surprised. Eno is one of the most brilliant minds in all styles. This record is really amamzing. Eno's music totally mature and totally outside of the mainstream. Intimate, provocative, very deep and even floating and quiet with superb arrangements on keys and synths. Every song sounds like a piece of Eno's heart. Anyway, an album to listen alone looking for the sunshine and the meaning of life... Maybe just for Eno's fans but I really believe that every man/woman with a little sense of music can fall in love with this album... Peace and love...
Report this review (#73624)
Posted Friday, March 31, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars Its hard to believe that to date, Another Day on Earth has only been reviewed 10 times. This is a masterpiece. An earlier reviewer called it the sum of Brian Eno's expereince. He has combined many skills developed from his prolific career. Has any other artist generated as much work - both his own work and his diverse collaborations.

The music generally has a majestic and haunting quiality. While some songs have sombre themes the overall mood is aspirational and uplifting. Gone is the detached bystander, now Eno is in the game of life with us - how many lips will we kiss today if we wake up. The keyboards are often ethereal with beautifully constructed solos. Another standout feature is his under-rated vocals. Its great to hear a deep and resonate voice. This is a standout track - upbeat, uplifting with a spiraling keyboard and a great groove from the percussion.

The album is divided between songs that are lyrically strong, such as Under and ambient pieces such as Its a Long Way Down. (The voice here is used as another instrument). Bottom liners is an insightful commentary on our economic system with the simplicity of Pink Floyd's Us and Them. The music has an hypnotic quality delivered with a sparse bass and percussion.

Just Another Day and Under are strong compositions with spacious percussion, and great melody and vocals.

Eno's impressive output exposes him to many artists and styles. I get the feeling he is still learning and we can expect more great music.

Report this review (#159848)
Posted Saturday, January 26, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars Brian Eno is a inspiration for me, as an aspiring low-profile ambient music ripper-offer. He has never really fit the progressive rock bill as far as I'm concerned, however. He's gone through phases: surreal quirk-rocker, soundscape extraordinaire, musique concrete noodler, techno purveyor....all of his phases have something to offer the fan of more cerebral electronic music. It seems Eno has done it all, or maybe he's just content with what he's accomplished, because Another Day on Earth feels like a decisively middle-aged album--the kind you'd expect from a pioneer of new technologies reflecting back on life. What Eno offers with Another Day is a steady stream of relaxing, swirling, modern, and relatable songs and atmospheric pieces that have a tendency to sweep you away from your cares for an hour.

When I hear Another Day on Earth, I think of our modern world, but not the grim warfare we see on the daily news. No, I think of sitting in a airport terminal, watching people walk by. It's a sunny day and life is serene. Or I imagine the Japanese market scene of the album front alive around me, the music as a soundtrack to so many people brushing past each other. I think of our vast knowledge of space and earth, that we have this enormous body of knowledge, and in the end, it doesn't matter to us. We go on with our lives like always, but every so often we think of our planet, a little marble in a sea of darkness, and we're humbled by it. Another Day On Earth is the soundtrack to happy times, drenched in sunlight.

Those are my feelings, and I hope they provide what is truly helpful in understanding the feeling of the album. But that probably is not enough to satisfy most people who prefer song descriptions. I'm sorry, but it is rather hard to dissect Another Day on Earth, doubly so for someone who neither plans reviews nor is particularly adept at dealing with the tediousness of such things. Another Day on Earth flows beautifully, and the songs manage to be distinct because of the solid ideas and meticulous yet effortless craftsmanship behind them. Eno is one of the best producers of our time, fellow living beings. He knows what he's doing.

So, this has been a spur of the moment review spawned by a moment of utter boredom, and in this brainstorm of glorious creativity, have neglected actually considering the star value I should assign to Another Day On Earth. I enjoy every song and moment on the album, but there seems to be no risks taken, and no advancement. This is not a revolutionary album, and it just doesn't feel like a 5-star album. Really, this is a hard one to rate in Eno's catalog, and I can easily see why someone could give it 2, 3, or 4 stars. To me, it's and honest 4 stars. Put it on, and take your mind to another, happy reality.

Report this review (#161790)
Posted Thursday, February 14, 2008 | Review Permalink
Slartibartfast
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars "And then so clear to wonder, to wake with open eyes".

After 1977's Before and After Science, Brian Eno quit doing vocal solo albums on a regular basis. Another Day On Earth hearkens back to that period (Another Green World also comes to mind), but this isn't really a rehash of that period. The music offered here certainly has elements of Eno's subsequent musical explorations and development that have occurred since then. If I had one complaint about this album, it would be that it despite all of Eno's experience since then, this album doesn't have the diversity of music that those earlier two do.

The opening track this reminds me a lot of the material on the album he did with John Cale, Wrong Way Up. The next track, And Then So Clear, I found very touching lyrically and musically. With it's vocoder style vocals (maybe it was done with an actual Vocoder) it sounds like a song sung by a computer or an android, that has suddenly become sentient and discovering emotion. Long Way Down gives you a feeling of drifting away in space. Going Unconscious is another spacey track with sparse lyrics sung beautifully by Inge Zalaliene. Caught Between is a another mellow song about nothing at all. Passing Over continues in the same vein. How Many Worlds is one of favorites a reflection on life. Bottom Liners lives that flounder. Just Another Day is another really good one about, you guessed it. Under's another one reminiscent of Wrong Way Up "Just when I think I'm going under, I...remain." Bone Bomb has another guest female vocalist, Aylie Cooke, doing spoken words almost disjointed yet still poetic. The song and the album end abrubtly.

All in all an enjoyable and non-difficult album to listen to which should have wide appeal unless you just don't like it mellow. Even though there's nothing groundbreaking here I'll easily rank this as one of Eno's best.

Report this review (#216232)
Posted Saturday, May 16, 2009 | Review Permalink
Peter
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Producer extraordinaire and studio wunderkind Brian Eno serves up an ideal amalgam of his pop and ambient stylings and experimentations on 2005's ANOTHER DAY ON EARTH.

Lead track "This" is danceable and infectious, with a funky bass line and ultra-modern beats, but the next number, "And Then So Clear" gives us synthesized vocals, and gentle, lovely music. The other nine tracks are by turns eerie, soothing, spacey and uplifting. There are vocals on every track, and Eno's voice (with some help from others) is immediately recognizable and as good as ever. Everything is meticulously crafted, of course, with layers upon layers, depth upon depth. This is great music for lounging, reading (sci fi would especially suit), dreaming, drifting, looking down upon the earth from your space station, or just floating weightlessly through the ether.

My favourite number is the catchy, almost nursery rhyme-like "How many Worlds," which features some gorgeous violin and lyrics which make my jaded eyes mist over. Quote: "How many worlds will we ever see, and how many people will we ever be, if we wake up?" That's the big question, isn't it? What a beautiful, profound yet simple -- and essential -- song!

This is a fine CD. If you've ever been an Eno fan, or you'd like a latter-day intro to his many musical worlds and soundscapes, opt for ANOTHER DAY ON EARTH.

Report this review (#275907)
Posted Thursday, April 1, 2010 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Another Day On Earth is Brian Eno's stab at creating another album of short songs with vocals in the vein of his early solo albums (from Here Come the Warm Jets to Before and After Science). Whilst he brings all the lessons of his three-decade career (not to mention years of technical advancements) to bear on the album, I still don't think it quite measures up to his early efforts; whereas those albums were based on a broad range of musical influences synthesised into an entirely novel and unique whole, here Eno is taking the ambient toolkit and just making more ambient music like he has for the last few decades, only he's putting words to it this time. It's an album which follows a tradition as opposed to breaking new ground, and that's why it can't ever compare to classics like Another Green World.
Report this review (#684655)
Posted Sunday, March 25, 2012 | Review Permalink
5 stars Brian Eno is very well known for his work with Roxy Music, Robert Fripp, 801, David Byrne, Coldplay and of course U2, considered as the fifth element of the band. Brian Eno is a precursor of electronic music, and ambient songs. All his albums are particularly focused on ambient sounds appropriate for the style. Another Day on Earth is a beautiful album which contains some songs with voice, and the music is a trademark. When I listened to this album, I remembered a lot his work on PASSENGERS, next to U2. In terms of progressive electronic, this album is high in standards!
Report this review (#1015371)
Posted Friday, August 9, 2013 | Review Permalink

BRIAN ENO Another Day On Earth ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of BRIAN ENO Another Day On Earth


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — jazz music reviews and archives | MetalMusicArchives.com — metal music reviews and archives