Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography




From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Zweistein Trip-Flip Out-Meditation album cover
2.87 | 19 ratings | 4 reviews | 11% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 1970

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1:
1. In (19:52)
- a. Beginning
- b. Analysis Of Tune
- c. To Hear Inside
- d. A Very Simple Song
2. Out (16:59)
- a. Misty Tour
- b. Water Sound
- c. Television
- d. Organ Dreams (A Very Simple Song)

Disc 2:
3. Wrong (18:03)
- a. Children's Golden Dream
- b. To Become A Child
- c. Children's Golden Dream
4. Right (18:02)
- a. Everything Returns
- b. Indian Child
- c. The Theory Of Relativity

Disc 3:
5. Point (18:08)
- a. Atomical Fantasy (electronic)
- b. Incarnation
- c. Childhood's Church
- d. Life Train
- e. Dream Of Love And Death
- f. Atomical Fantasy
6. Circle (15:14)
- a. Verdi's Soul Born Again
- b. Mind Beat
- c. Himalaya's Way
- d. Heaven Bridge
- e. Out Of Time
- f. Atomical Fade Out

Bonus tracks on Captain Trip CD re-issue (2007):
7. I'm A Melody Maker (single version)(3:37)
8. A Very Simple Song (single version)(5:36)

Total Time: 104:38

Line-up / Musicians

- Jacques Dorian
- Suzanne Doucet
- Diane Doucet

Instruments played by Zweistein: disc 1 - electronic effects, guitars, drums, sounds, voices, organ and other instruments; disc 2 - voice, drums and other instruments; disc 3 - electronic effects, atommelodies, inductions, organ drums, flute, melodica, harmonica, voices, guitar clocks, steps, bells, barrel-organ and other instruments.

- Peter Kramper / sound, electronic effects
- Jacques Dorian / lyrics, compositions, realisation

Releases information

3LP Philips 6630 002 (1970)
3CD Captain Trip CTCD-583-585 (2007)
An original LP design is reproduced at CD covered-size and it makes it to Paper Sleeve 3CD-Set.
Sale schedule from Captain Trip Record on May 20, 2007.
1000 limited production first time.

Because the master tape has lost, a part of sound source uses the material to which digital-remastering is processed in the origin and foreign countries of the Suzanne Doucet attendance who is original member as mastering based on the original record board.

Thanks to Black Velvet for the addition
and to Joolz for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ZWEISTEIN Trip-Flip Out-Meditation Music

More places to buy ZWEISTEIN music online Buy ZWEISTEIN & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

ZWEISTEIN Trip-Flip Out-Meditation ratings distribution

(19 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(11%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(26%)
Good, but non-essential (26%)
Collectors/fans only (16%)
Poor. Only for completionists (21%)

ZWEISTEIN Trip-Flip Out-Meditation reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by philippe
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Absolutely not common and a really ambitious project, "Trip-flip Out-meditation is a serious effort in 70s German psych/underground. With disturbing and confusion collage sounds, weird noises, home built instruments and organic stylistic "hypnotic" phases, Zweistein's music escapes to classifications. A various, inventive album with a surrealistic atmosphere. Totally unpredictable the opening track is a noisy, distorted combination of manipulated sounds, chaotic guitar chords. "Out" features a collection of different collage sounds taken from TV archives, then comes a shimmering, "elegiac" soundscape built around the electronic organ. "Wrong" carries on the last idea developed previously and stresses the sustained droning organ sounds. Some semi-eastern and stoned vocals punctuate the ensemble...a magnificent, adventurous composition. The next titles contain various abrasive electronic collages. The last track features a nice, humorous piano improvisation. Very eccentric, experimental, immersive but no normative aesthetic. One of the most challenging avant-rock / krautrock albums.
Review by Dobermensch
3 stars Interestingly, George Harrison was one of the first people to hear this triple album which he had posted to him on completion. Goodness knows what he must have made of it... This is one whacked out weirdo album indeed.

Self proclaimed stoners and acid droppers, Zweistein flung together this beast in very short time. Supposedly they were big fans of Albert Einstein and that's where the moniker originated.

No conventional instruments are used at all. There's loads of effects, distortions and playful madness afoot. If you take Suzanne Doucet on her word - she said that she played this to Uri Geller in New York because 'mysterious tones' appeared on the 3rd LP that were not recorded in the studio. Geller turned round and said 'These tones are messages from Aliens!' Ahh... you've got to love the 70's eh?

Suzanne Doucet was a famous German singer at the time and used this name as a psuedonym. I can fully understand why...

Don't expect a good knees-up and party atmosphere with this recording. It's one of the strangest early recordings I've heard - probably on a par with and similar to Cro-Magnons 'Orgasm'. This is as self indulgent as it gets. They clearly couldn't give a monkeys about their audience. Now that's the kind of music I like...

There are a whole host of stories related to this recording. The most well known is the one where one of the female members allegedly slept with the producer in order to get the studio time and contract with Phillips records.

'Trip, Flip out, Meditation' sounds like a creepy late night fairground replete with sped up voices, daemons, squeaks and school playground antics all of which are squashed through phasing, flanging and echo effects. 'Phillips' apparently withdrew all copies and made no more after hearing the 'Trip' recording.

I could go on all day with one anecdote after another. Suffice to say, if you can find it (a tough call), buy it. Not as mental as the Residents from the same period, but equally as deranged. Tough to take in a 2 hour sitting though.

Latest members reviews

1 stars I rate this album 1/5 considering the "Only for completionist" rating system.. Originally released by the major "Phillips" label as 3 LP, this is certainly one of the most bizarre/avant-garde recording ever, while not really enjoyable musically, it is in fact a very interessant recording consid ... (read more)

Report this review (#112901) | Posted by samhob | Tuesday, February 20, 2007 | Review Permanlink

2 stars Zweistein delves deep into the realms of the German underground scene with this bizarre artifact. Released on the renowned Philips Records, Trip-Flip out-Meditation is a far cry from their staple catalogue. Its making was plagued by risks, resulting in the firing of the producer. Suzanne Doucet (the ... (read more)

Report this review (#85810) | Posted by Apsalar | Friday, August 4, 2006 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ZWEISTEIN "Trip-Flip Out-Meditation"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives