Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


O Terço

Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

O Terço Preferencia Nacional  album cover
3.00 | 3 ratings | 1 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Write a review
Buy O TERÇO Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1976

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Hey Amigo
2. Tributo Ao Sorriso
3. Adormeceu
4. Criaturas Da Noite
5. Casa Encantanda
6. Mudanca De Tempo
7. Queimada
8. Nao Sei Nao
9. Luz De Vela
10. Volte Na Proxima Semana
11. Jogo Das Pedras
12. Gente Do Interior
13. Ponto Final
14. Pano De Fundo
15. Flor Dee La Noche
16. 1974

Line-up / Musicians

- Sergio Hinds / electric & acoustic guitars, vocals, bass (2,3)
- Sergio Magrao / bass, vocals, acoustic guitar (12)
- Luiz Moreno / drums, percussion, vocals
- Flavio Venturini / piano, organ, acoustic 12 string guitar, vocals
- Cesar De Merces / acoustic guitar, percussion, vocals (6,8,12)
- Sergio Kaffa / keyboards (6,8), bass (12)
- Jorge Amiden / guitars, vocals (2,3)
- Vinicius Cantuaria / drums, vocals (2,3)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Tarcisio Moura for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy O TERÇO Preferencia Nacional Music

More places to buy O TERÇO music online Buy O TERÇO & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

O TERÇO Preferencia Nacional ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (33%)

O TERÇO Preferencia Nacional reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Tarcisio Moura
3 stars A quite good compilation with a few tunes that could be dismissed and a some that should be included. Overall I can´t complain, for it includes their best album ever, the classic Criaturas Da Noite, in its entirely (albeit not in the same order, of course), much stuff from their second best, Casa Encantada and even a couple of very early b sides. The disposable tunes would be the ones from the weak Mudança de Tempo (1978), where the songs and the style are too different from the rest of the material here and not up to their standards thus far. But, since there is only 3 tracks from that album, I guess it´s alright.

I guess the songs should be in chronological order. That would make it easy for anyone to see their development through the years. The idea of having those two b-sides was a good one, though. They both sound better than on the original form (I guess they were remastered): Tributo Ao Sorriso is from their debut single , Velhas Histórias (1970), and recently they added it to their repertoire when the classic line up came back. Unfortunately nothing from their first two LPs is featured here, and some other early or non album single could be added (as long as they were also remastered). The exclusion of anything they released after 1978 is good news, making it a little more coherent, showing the band´s versatility and skill without having to face some terrible material they recorded during the 80´s.

Conclusion: nice compilation if you want to know about this quintessential brazilian band and don´t want to or can´t afford to listen to all their 70´s stuff. At least it does include all the cuts from their most important CD.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of O TERÇO "Preferencia Nacional "

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives