Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


John Martyn

Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

John Martyn Ain't No Saint album cover
3.22 | 4 ratings | 1 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2008

Songs / Tracks Listing

DISC 1: 75:42
1. Fairy Tales Lullaby
2. Sing A Song Of Summer
3. Stormbringer
4. Tree Green
5. Head And Heart
6. In The Evening (Previously Unreleased)
7. Solid Air
8. Keep On (Previously Unreleased)
9. The Glory Of Love
10. Go Down Easy
11. Ain't No Saint Instrumental (Previously Unreleased)
12. Fine Lines
13. Eight More Miles (Previously Unreleased)
14. Call Me Crazy
15. Black Man At The Shoulder (Previously Unreleased)
16. All For The Love Of You (Previously Unreleased)
17. Working It Out (Previously Unreleased)
18.Couldn't Love You More

DISC 2: 79:22
1. Advertisment
2. Small Hours
3. Anna (Previously Unreleased)
4. Lookin' On
5. Amsterdam
6. Hung Up
7. Acid Rain
8. Who Believes In Angels
9. The Apprentice
10. Hole In The Rain
11. One World
12. Sunday's Child
13. Carmine
14. The Sky Is Crying
15. So Sweet
16. Back To Marseilles

DISC 3: 77:30
1. Bless The Weather (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
2. Make No Mistake (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
3. So Much In Love With You (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
4. Spencer The Rover (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
5. My Baby Girl (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
6. You Can Discover (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
7. Solid Air (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
8. I'd Rather Be The Devil (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
9. Outside In (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
10. Advertisment
11. Big Muff (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
12. One Day Without You (Previously Unreleased Live Version)

DISC 4: 79:34
1. Dealer (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
2. Smiling Stranger (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
3. Johnny Too Bad (BBC A Little Night Music)
4. Hurt In Your Heart (BBC A Little Night Music)
5. John Wayne (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
6. Angeline (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
7. Mad Dog Days (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
8. The Moment (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
9. Fisherman's Dream (Previously Unreleased Live Version)
10. Sweet Little Mystery (BBC Later With Jools Holland)
11. May You Never (BBC Later With Jools Holland)
12. Step It Up (BBC Later With Jools Holland)
13. Sunshine's Better (BBC Radio 1 Andy Kershaw)
14. One For The Road (BBC Later With Jools Holland)
15. Over The Hill (BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards Show 6th Feb 2008)

Total Time 312:08

Line-up / Musicians

- John Martyn / Vocals, guitar

Releases information

4CD Universal Music UMC 530.798-7 (2008)

Thanks to Adams Bolero for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy JOHN MARTYN Ain't No Saint Music

More places to buy JOHN MARTYN music online Buy JOHN MARTYN & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

JOHN MARTYN Ain't No Saint ratings distribution

(4 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

JOHN MARTYN Ain't No Saint reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
3 stars John Martyn started as an acoustic folkie in the latter half of the 60's, later on his music has included jazzy, bluesy, rocky, proggy and even funky elements. Despite this versatility he always sounds genuinely himself. 40 years is a long time making music. Four discs can easily run out when one tries to summarize John Martyn's career. This set seems to be designed to Martyn fans rather than those not yet very familiar with his discography. And that is a negative remark at first, but the contents are rewarding after all. I just missed more informative discographic details: I had to use All Music Guide in order to find out the source albums to each song. Even before finding out that fault, the notions that discs 3 and 4 are previously unreleased live recordings and also discs 1 and 2 contain a huge amount of tracks marked as Previously Unreleased, made the whole package somehow untempting to be borrowed from the library.

But it was good listening experience though. The live material was of high quality and there were no seedy demos. Even a newcomer doesn't need to be doubtful. Prev. unreleased non-live tracks include e.g. studio out-takes. The most interesting one was a song 'Anna' for a film called In Search Of Anna, released as a single only in Australia. The compiler John Hillarby has chosen one track from each studio album (what a waste leaving discographic details out!), and everything runs in chronological order from the 1967 debut to albums released in early 2000's, and on live CD's from a performance of 'Bless The Weather' in 1973 to 'Over The Hill' from a concert in 2008. The last disc is mostly dating from the nineties and recorded for various BBC television or radio programmes.

The essays, or what do you call them, are rather shapeless and tiresome to read; again it all tastes like made for a Martyn connoisseur. It's a relief that this set was released before John Martyn passed away in 2009, because now at least the text avoids overwhelming pathos. The box itself is a handy 19-centimetre high with the 38-page booklet tied inside, but otherwise the way of represention leaves several wishes. But for the luxorious and mostly interesting contents this is pretty definitive as a Martyn compilation.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of JOHN MARTYN "Ain't No Saint"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives