Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Henry Kaiser


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Henry Kaiser Hope You Like Our New Direction album cover
3.09 | 3 ratings | 1 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 1991

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Love's Made a Fool of You (3:15)
2. "Traditional" Medley Devil Got My Woman > Sa Mac Improvisation > Qua CauGio Bay > Ly Chim Quyen > Cold Rain and Snow (13:00)
3. Rock On (9:00)
4. Kanaka Wai Wai (4:15)
5. The Skunk's Tears (3:15)
6. Annihilation in Allah (4:35)
7. Windham Hell (1:50)
8. The Sandman (4:45)
9. Hurum II (7:55)
10. Edge of the World (2:30)
11. Distant Stars (2:00)
12. California Dreamin' (4:40)
13. Carried Off By the Moon (2:50)
14. High School Hellcats (6:55)
15. Prosaic Mosaic (3:50)
16. Japan in a Dishpan (3:00)

Total Time 77:35

Line-up / Musicians

- Henry Kaiser / guitars, vocals, keyboards
- Bruce Ackley / soprano sax
- Bruce Anderson / guitars, vocals
- David Balakrishnan / violin
- Danny Carnahan / guitar, vocals, cittern
- Brian Carroll / guitar
- Tom Constanten / piano, keyboards
- Vernon Edgar / voice
- Miguel Frasconi / piano, organ
- John French / drums
- Greg Gumbel / vocals
- Hilary Hanes / bass, vocals
- John Hanes / drums, percussion
- Elodea Kane / vocals
- Raymond Kane / guitar, vocals
- Jin Hi Kim / changgo drums
- Ngoc Lam / 17 & 26 string danh tranh
- Gary Lambert / bass
- John McCain / guitar
- Mark McQuaid Crawford / drums
- Chales K. Noyes / drums
- John Oswald / also sax
- Sang Won Park / vocals, kayagum
- Robin Petrie / vocals, hammered dulcimer
- Cary Sheldon / vocals
- Alan Smithee / bass
- Richard Thompson / guitar, vocals
- Andy West / bass

Releases information

Reckless CDRECK 21

Thanks to Evolver for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy HENRY KAISER Hope You Like Our New Direction Music

More places to buy HENRY KAISER music online

HENRY KAISER Hope You Like Our New Direction ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (67%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

HENRY KAISER Hope You Like Our New Direction reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Crossover & JR/F/Canterbury Teams
3 stars The title of this album is a bit of a joke, as this album shows Henry Kaiser and his many cohorts going off in all directions at once. There is rock, there is fusion, there are a vast number of different world music flavors. But since the central theme is Henry Kaiser's guitar, it is mostly great music.

While I enjoy Kaiser's excursions into Asian, Middle Eastern and African music, it's his wild electric guitar soloing that I most prefer to hear from him. So therefore, my favorite tracks are the cover of David Essex' classic Rock On (with not as cool vocals as the original, but much better guitar), The Mamas & The Papas California Dreamin' (with spectacular guitaring), Windham Hell, a short guitar piece referring to his time on a certain new age label, and especially High School Hellcats, a punk jazz extravaganza.

I happen to love Kaiser's guitar in just about any setting, but this one is for fans of varied types of music.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of HENRY KAISER "Hope You Like Our New Direction"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives