Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Nigel Mazlyn Jones

Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Nigel Mazlyn Jones Raft album cover
4.39 | 12 ratings | 1 reviews | 8% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2014

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Spirit Moves
2. There Is A Place
3. Free Flight
4. Only Human
5. Push The Boat Out
6. For One Brief Moment
7. new 24 2050
8. Common Ground
9. raft
10. 60 Miles of Horizon
11. Bright Sky
12. When Rivers Run

Line-up / Musicians

- Nigel Mazlyn Jones / vocals, guitars
- Guy Evans / drums and percussion
- Rog Patterson / Chapman Stick, Fretless bass and acoustic
- Jo Lucy / violin
- Oscar Morse / Sax
- Jim Nield / electric guitar
- Rob Phillips / fretless bass
- Margaret MJ / piano
- Dave Reeves / harmonicas -

Thanks to kev rowland for the addition
Edit this entry


Isle of Light 2014
$18.29 (used)

More places to buy NIGEL MAZLYN JONES music online Buy NIGEL MAZLYN JONES & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

NIGEL MAZLYN JONES Raft ratings distribution

(12 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(8%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (8%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kev rowland
5 stars This has been way too long coming, in fact this is the first acoustic based album from Nigel Mazlyn Jones in thirteen years, I just hope that we don't have to wait so long for the next one! This contains his trademark use of 12 string guitars and Glissando bowed techniques, and he has here been joined by some guests including Guy Evans (who has worked with NMJ for more than 30 years now) of Van Der Graaf Generator on drums and percussion, Rog Patterson on Chapman Stick, fretless bass and acoustic (and it's about time he released some new solo material as well!), Jo Lucy on violin, Oscar Morse on sax, Jim Nield on electric guitar, Rob Phillips on fretless bass, Margaret MJ on piano and Dave Reeves on harmonicas.

The only word to describe this album is "beautiful", as the listener is entranced by the sounds coming out of the speakers. There are long instrumental passages where one is taken to a new world by Nigels's deft 12-string technique, and others where they are more songs-based and the guests come in and out of the music as they play their part and then leave again. Only a few of the songs have four people involved, while three are just Nigel. For those who have never come across NMJ before, his style is a cross of Anthony Phillips and Roy Harper, with just a touch of Gong and Steve Hillage here and there. The result is a world of incredibly well-arranged music where space is a permanent fixture and one is allowed to breathe in the notes and live in NMJ's world. Inspired as ever by his love of the Cornish coast, this album is essential for anyone who enjoys great music. The last words belong to Nigel, "We sail the tiny raft of our lives and this small planet Earth is the raft that carries us all. Rafts are fragile, not permanent, and held together with hopes and dreams. So I set my sails well . . . What say you my friend, let's strike out for the ocean?" Released as a digi pak with an insert, this is truly essential.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of NIGEL MAZLYN JONES "Raft"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives