Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Sergio Benchimol

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Sergio Benchimol A Drop In The Ocean, An Ocean In A Drop album cover
3.19 | 9 ratings | 2 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2004

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Terral (4:26)
2. Janelas Do Ceu (3:37)
3. Memorias De Viagens (6:50)
4. Bamidbar (4:21)
5. Toca Da Cigarra (3:17)
6. Bossa Rio Jazz Walz (3:29)
7. Jardim Das Delicias (8:09)
8. Maracatu (3:42)
9. Moria (3:52)
10. The Hunt (4:15 )
11. Falling Times (4:06)
12. Exodus (2:57)
13. A Drop In The Ocean (4:27)
14. A Rocha E O Mar (4:29)
15. Unpack Bagus (2:38)
16. Estrelas Do Amanhecer (3:03)
17. 49 Porta (2:45)
18. Carrossel (2:41)
19. The Last Call (3:47)

Total Time: 77:08

Line-up / Musicians

- Sérgio Benchimol / acoustic paino, acoustic and electric guitar, electric and acoustic bass, mandolim, keyboards, sitar, tubullar bells, violin efects, voice and lyrics
- David Ganc / flutes and saxophone
- Rafael Barata / drums
- Luciano Vaz / cello
- Carlos Prazeres / oboe
- Edu Szjainbrum / percussion

Guest Musicians:
- Toca De Lamare / shofar in Moriá, acoustic piano in A Rocha e o Mar
- Michel Benchimol / voice in Carrossel

Releases information

CD Independent #AA0002000

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy SERGIO BENCHIMOL A Drop In The Ocean, An Ocean In A Drop Music

A Drop In The Ocean, An Ocean In A DropA Drop In The Ocean, An Ocean In A Drop
$11.95 (used)

More places to buy SERGIO BENCHIMOL music online Buy SERGIO BENCHIMOL & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

SERGIO BENCHIMOL A Drop In The Ocean, An Ocean In A Drop ratings distribution

(9 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SERGIO BENCHIMOL A Drop In The Ocean, An Ocean In A Drop reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by erik neuteboom
3 stars This Brasilian musician is a multi-instrumenalist: he plays piano, flute, guitar and bass and also uses a wide range of guest musicians (playing instruments from Moog and sitar to oboe and percussion). Most of the 19 songs on this CD are mellow and dreamy acoustic folk with fine interplay between flute, acoustic guitar, flute, violin, sitar or saxophone. Some tracks sound more as symphonic rock: the dynamic Terral with swirling flute, violin and Mellotron waves, the King Crimson (Red-era) inspired The Hunt (fiery sax and electric guitar) and A Drop In The Ocean (delivering piano, sax and Moog flights). I was very pleased with the warm Spanish guitar, blended with violin and flute on Bamidbar. For me this is a beautiful folk-oriented CD with some symphonic compositions.

Review by apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Multi-instrumentalist SERGIO BENCHIMOL is an experienced musician,as hes was part of brazilian bands SEMENTE and TRUE ILLUSION during his career.He released his first personal work in 2004,entitled ''A drop in the ocean,an ocean in a drop''.A very demanding work,this album is a weird yet fascinating compination between chamber music and progressive rock.First part of the album contains exclusively chamber-oriented tracks based on tasteful flutes and nice classical guitars,surrounded by the use of instruments like cello,violin and sitar.As the album unfolds the music follows more complicated and energetic ways with the addition of electric instruments and a tight rhythm section,this time having a jazzier sound due to the heavy use of saxes.You'll be reminded of MANEIGE,pastoral Italian folk/prog bands or even a jazzier E.L.P. with nice piano/flute work and obscure synthesizers by Benchimol himself.This is mainly a mellow and relaxing album,but certainly it will appeal only to open-minded progsters,who would like to add a more chamber and jazzy taste in their music.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of SERGIO BENCHIMOL "A Drop In The Ocean, An Ocean In A Drop"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives