Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography




From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Mystery Caught in the Whirlwind of Time album cover
4.58 | 17 ratings | 3 reviews | 59% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
DVD/Video, released in 2020

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (63:27)
1. Looking for Something Else (16:09)
2. The Scarlet Eye (5:40)
3. Come to Me (5:09)
4. The Willow Tree (17:48)
5. How Do You Feel? (4:48)
6. Shadow of the Lake (13:53)

CD 2 (51:27)
7. Delusion Rain (10:24)
8. Dare to Dream (6:33)
9. Where Dreams Come Alive (7:32)
10. The Sailor and the Mermaid (4:56)
11. Wall Street King (6:17)
12. Pride (7:58)
13. Something to Believe In (7:47)

CD 3 (49:45)
14. Travel to the Night (10:15)
15. A Song for You (14:40)
16. Chrysalis (16:38)
17. The Preacher's Fall (8:12)

Total Time 164:39

1. Looking for Something Else
2. The Scarlet Eye
3. Come to Me
4. The Willow Tree
5. How Do You Feel?
6. Shadow of the Lake
7. Delusion Rain
8. Dare to Dream
9. Where Dreams Come Alive
10. The Sailor and the Mermaid
11. Wall Street King
12. Pride
13. Something to Believe In
14. Travel to the Night
15. A Song for You
16. Chrysalis
17. The Preacher's Fall

Bonus Video
1. Time-Lapse - Something to Believe In
2. A View from the Balcony - Travel to the Night

Total Time 208 minutes approx.

Line-up / Musicians

- Jean Pageau / vocals, keyboards, flute
- Michel St-Père / electric & acoustic guitars, keyboards
- Sylvain Moineau / guitar, keyboards
- Antoine Michaud / keyboards
- François Fournier / bass, Taurus pedals, keyboards
- Jean-Sébastien Goyette / drums

Releases information

Recorded Live at the Boerderij Cultuurpodium, Zoetermeer, Netherlands on November 17, 2018

3CD, Blu-Ray or, 1 Blu-Ray released on Unicorn Digital November 28, 2020

Thanks to rdtprog for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy MYSTERY Caught in the Whirlwind of Time Music

MYSTERY Caught in the Whirlwind of Time ratings distribution

(17 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(59%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(35%)
Good, but non-essential (6%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

MYSTERY Caught in the Whirlwind of Time reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by rdtprog
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Heavy / RPI / Symphonic Prog Team
4 stars The band almost didn't make it on time for this show in the Netherlands because of a snowstorm. The guys didn't have much sleep and had to live with the jetlag, but looking at this Blu-Ray it didn't transpire on stage because the musicians were full of energy and enough to give a 3 hours show. They played the last album ''Lies and Butterflies'' in its entirety along with their classic songs. This band has improved over the years but it came to a point where you can't go higher. The band delivers his heavy Neo-Prog that show some style of the Neo-Prog bands of the past, but you can't pick one band close to the band, they have their unique style. The music is melodic and some passages are breathtaking mostly when they played their epic song of over 10 minutes, and you have 7 on this show. Michel St-Père on lead guitar delivers some brilliant guitar solos smiling most of the time. But I was impressed by the enthusiasm of singer Jean Pageau who seems to enjoy being there enough to go on the balcony and sing in the crowd for a song. He put on a little theatrical show with some costumes and also can play the flute and keyboards. This band is not so mysterious after all... Recommended.
Review by kev rowland
5 stars In my mind French-Canadian band Mystery have had three separate periods to their career to date, defined by their different singers and while they probably came to many people's attention when Benoît David was chosen to front Yes, it is with their last two albums that they have really made their presence felt. I do need to put a little disclaimer out at this point as I have known guitarist and songwriter Michel St-Père for more than 30 years and he asked me to write the introduction for the booklet which comes with this set, which was recorded in Holland on November 17th, 2018, but that has had no impact on my opinion of it. The gig nearly didn't go ahead as although Michel had arrived a few days early, the rest of the band appeared to be trapped in Canada with their flight cancelled until Sylvain Moineau (guitar, keyboards) somehow managed to get them onto a flight to London. They arrived in time for the show, jetlagged and tired, but no-one would guess from their performance that night.

As well as Michel and Sylvain the band are Jean Pageau (vocals, keyboards, flute), Antoine Michaud (keyboards), François Fournier (bass, Taurus pedals, keyboards) and Jean-Sébastien Goyette (drums) and tonight was a celebration, a one-off event where they were performing in what the band call their second home. There are few progressive rock bands who use two guitarists in a rock setting, as many defer to metal or become something which are incredibly experimental, but here Michel and Sylvain have a wonderful understanding and the dramatic build to the entrance of Pageau on opener "Looking for Something Else" is simply superb.

Mystery are a band who utilise a lot of keyboards, but it is the guitars and songs which make them stand out so much, combined with a very powerful vocal presence. I played the triple CDs long before I put on the Blu-ray as I knew that once I started watching that then I would not want to return to the audio only, and I was right. As one would expect these days, there are multiple cameras giving us multiple insights, and the delight on the faces of Michel and Jean as they duet (guitar/keytar) is lovely. I firmly believe the last studio albums are the finest of their career to date, and this shows in the confidence being displayed on the faces of all those involved in this remarkable performance. Although their music is complex and multi-layered, there is always plenty of space and a huge use of dynamics and contrast so when they take off they really do, and are one of the most passionate and driving prog bands around.

I have been fortunate enough to be a fan of Mystery for more than 20 years now. If you already know the band then this is an essential purchase, and if you have yet to come across some of the most delicious and melodic progressive rock around then now is the time to jump in and investigate and this is the perfect introduction.

Latest members reviews

5 stars As well as the 'Lies and Butterlies' contribution (the whole album), 'Delusion Rain' is well represented with 4 tracks; 'Beneath the Veil of Winter's Face' is also represented by a further 4 tracks - the remaining 2 come from 'Destiny' and 'The World is a Game'. All the tracks are played in random ... (read more)

Report this review (#2500395) | Posted by huge | Sunday, January 31, 2021 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of MYSTERY "Caught in the Whirlwind of Time"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.