Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Suggest New Bands and Artists
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedBobby Beausoleil and the Freedom Orchestra

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bobby Beausoleil and the Freedom Orchestra
    Posted: December 21 2006 at 02:48
Alright,

I think the only reason Beausoleil is not on here is because his only real major accomplishment in music was the Lucifer Rising soundtrack, and very few of you would have seen or heard this I think.

Everywhere I've been on the net, with the few articles I have found.. Have labeled this instrumental prog rock similar to early Pink Floyd. It's like space/psychedlic prog, with some jazz influence and horns. I've never really heard anything like it but I admit I'm not a huge prog head.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=qtLpEcoNqBc
http://youtube.com/watch?v=6A6Ovq9hqc0
http://youtube.com/watch?v=7BfNX9SEBEQ

Pirate Bay has a torrent of tons of Kenneth Anger films. They're very difficult to find otherwize and currently long out of print. Many of his films have music rights issues and may not be released for many years. You're only good bet would be a video store catering to film students and rent them there.  If you happen to live in Montreal Boite Noire on St-Denis has them all. Mystic Fire Video released his "Magick Lantern Cycle" on vhs in four volumes. To buy this online is easily upwards of $70 for one tape and is very rare.

Edited by tr00vndkvlt - December 21 2006 at 02:50
Sean Trane View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator

Prog Folk

Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 21 2006 at 08:24
I opened a thread about this this summer ans I am still trying to find Page's origiunal soundtrack (the first filmwas only 31 min long; Beausoleil's music is on the second version of the film.