Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Interviews
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedSoleil Zeuhl (March 2010)

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Retired

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Soleil Zeuhl (March 2010)
    Posted: March 20 2010 at 16:51

Artists and bands tells their own interesting stories in ProgArchives. But the prog rock world is a lot more than artists and musicians. The middle men between the Moog and the CD player is often forgotten. The record labels in other words. I have extensive experience in this field of lost dreams. I therefore want to give record labels their voice in ProgArchives. 

First out is a label most of you with a love for Zeuhl should know. Bands like Dun, Potemkin and Eskaton is well known bands in that genre. Without Alain Lebon and his Soleil Zeuhl label, their albums would have remained hard-to-find LPs and not the reasonable readily available CDs as they are now. I caught up with Alain for the Soleil Zeuhl story so far.

As per usual, my questions in bold and his answers in bold italic blue.

---------------------

What is your background and what did you do before you set up your current record label ?

I'm just a basic music fan that came to create a label mostly because I was frustrated that almost nothing from "my CD want list" made its way to CD in the 90s. As I had a bit of time & being prepared to lose some money, after a looong hesitation I produced what was destined to be the first CD of SOLEIL ZEUHL, the Archaia reissue.

Why did you set up Soleil Zeuhl and what was your business plan/idea ? Did you get any financial or any help at all when you set up the label back in 1998 ?