Topic ClosedCarol Of Harvest

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Retired

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Carol Of Harvest
    Posted: August 14 2010 at 08:57

This band from Germany is almost unknown. Yet, their debut album is very sought after on Ebay and other places where it change owners for small fortunes. 

Carol of Harvest plays a dreamy blend of Progressive Rock and Folk with female vocals that might be compared with Mellow Candle and early Clannad mixed with Jane, Pentangle and Renaissance.  

Carol Of Harvest released a new album last year where they picked up the baton from their debut album. I got in touch with the band through Axel and here is their story.

------------------------------------------

When and by who was Carol Of Harvest formed and do you have any background from other bands ?

No I have no background from other bands. I did play the guitar and I had and still have a lot of songs that I wanted to play with a band.
In 1975 I met Robert Högn(drums – he was in the same school as I), Heinz Reinschlüssel (bass – he was living with me in a flat together with my brother and my girlfriend Rita), Jürgen Kolb (keyboards) and Beate Krause (vocals).

Why did you choose that name ?

I had a book with poetry from Walt Whitman called leaves of grass. One poetry was named „a carol of harvest“. I liked it very much :
A song of the good green grass!
A song no more of the city streets;
A song of farms--a song of the soil of fields.
So I deceided to call our band carol of harvest.
(Another reason was, that we smoked a lot of selvegrown grass at that time – carol of harvest – for our first gig we had a poster with a wonderful plant of marihuana – carol of harvest was the right name.

To start with; please give me your (long or brief) thoughts and lowdowns on.........

Carol of Harvest from 1978