URL: http://www.progarchives.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=1222
Printed Date: June 02 2024 at 05:10
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: calling all bass players!
Posted By: bassguy35
Subject: calling all bass players!
Date Posted: July 19 2004 at 11:04

hey bass players----

i am a beginner 4-string  bass player and i was wondering if you had any advice for me. I was wondering if you remember when you were starting out, i need to understand what steps to take to get started. I got my inspiration when i was listening to a man play his bass. he was playing jazz/blues music. when he was done playing i asked him if i could pluck on his bass. he said yes and he let me. i tried to follow along to the piano and trumpet and trombone. i actually did good, and he said that i should start playing. please give me any advice that you can, i need your help...Thanks!!

-------------
<ROCK ON!>
bassguy35

Replies:
Posted By: 5 minute solo
Date Posted: July 19 2004 at 11:08
play with other people and develop your timing. and try and learn some basic theory, at least you may have some idea of what you're doing.

-------------
You want the spoon? You can't handle the spoon!

Posted By: Joren
Date Posted: July 19 2004 at 13:43
My friend JrKASperov (who's also a forum member) plays a five string electric bass guitar. He taught himself how to do it. Ask him!

Posted By: bassguy35
Date Posted: July 19 2004 at 14:25
thanks for telling me joren!  i private messaged him and hopes he respondes and reads my article. you've been a big help!

-------------
<ROCK ON!>
bassguy35

Posted By: Joren
Date Posted: July 19 2004 at 14:28

at your service!

Is the bass guitar your first musical instrument?

Posted By: bityear
Date Posted: July 19 2004 at 16:02