Forum Home Forum Home > Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements > Report bugs here
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Formatting reviews
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedFormatting reviews

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Rivertree View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Band Submissions

Joined: March 22 2006
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 17660
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Formatting reviews
    Posted: February 27 2008 at 09:13
The review guidlines recommend to use a <p> tag for opening a new paragraph.





But it doesn't work - the same with other formatting options like <b> aso.







Edited by Rivertree - February 27 2008 at 09:15


Back to Top
MikeEnRegalia View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: April 22 2005
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Points: 21792
Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 27 2008 at 10:00
@Max: I guess you're running some anti-xss functions to change HTML to safe text in order to prevent hacking. Consider the following solution for the problem described above (using Visual Basic syntax):

reviewContent = Replace(reviewContent, "<p>", "__P__")
reviewContent = Replace(reviewContent, "</p>", "__PP__")
reviewContent = Replace(reviewContent, "<b>", "__B__")
reviewContent = Replace(reviewContent, "</b>", "__BB__")

run Anti-XSS on reviewContent

reviewContent = Replace(reviewContent, "__P__", "<p>")
reviewContent = Replace(reviewContent, "__PP__", "</p>")
reviewContent = Replace(reviewContent, "__B__", "<b>")
reviewContent = Replace(reviewContent, "__BB__", "</b>")





Edited by MikeEnRegalia - February 27 2008 at 10:51
Release Polls

Listened to:
Back to Top
Raff View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: July 29 2005
Location: None
Status: Online
Points: 24439
Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 27 2008 at 11:21
I know I always have to edit my review from my own page in order to insert paragraph breaks (I HATE writing without them), and in some cases quotation marks. Hopefully the problem will be solved soon, because it's a bit of a nuisance.
Back to Top
M@X View Drop Down
Forum & Site Admin Group
Forum & Site Admin Group
Avatar
Co-founder, Admin & Webmaster

Joined: January 29 2004
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 4077
Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 28 2008 at 09:36
I'll have a second check about this bug Geek
Prog On !
Back to Top
MikeEnRegalia View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: April 22 2005
Location: Sweden
Status: Offline
Points: 21792
Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 28 2008 at 12:12
^ of course the quick solution would be to change the text ... people should use double line feeds instead of <p> until another solution is found.
Release Polls

Listened to:
Back to Top
Rivertree View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Band Submissions

Joined: March 22 2006
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 17660
Direct Link To This Post Posted: February 28 2008 at 14:03
Originally posted by MikeEnRegalia MikeEnRegalia wrote:

^ of course the quick solution would be to change the text ... people should use double line feeds instead of <p> until another solution is found.


Well - it would be enough to update the review guidelines.
I only wanted to point out the contradiction ... Wink



Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.168 seconds.
Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.