Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Prog Music Lounge
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Does Form Still Follow Function? Technology & Art
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedDoes Form Still Follow Function? Technology & Art

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Does Form Still Follow Function? Technology & Art
    Posted: January 06 2015 at 10:38
I've read various posts lately with sometimes conflicting but valid opinions regarding the importance or even the need for technology in an art such as music and singing.

As a technician, my base view on this type of thinking may be prejudiced. However, it is difficult for me to envision someone playing a piano if a piano was not built first. This to me is not an open ended question such as "What came first, the chicken or the egg?"

The building of the piano came first and then it was played, in that specific order.

To me, art rests on the foundation of technology. This may develop into some form of symbiotic relationship after, but the nuts and bolts must proceed G cliffs and notes.

What is your opinion regarding technology and it's relationship to art. All art.

Edited by SteveG - January 06 2015 at 13:50
King Only View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 06 2015 at 10:47
But why would anyone build a musical instrument unless they had the desire to create music? The only possible purpose for a musical instrument is to create music. So music technology is a result of a desire to create music. It's not like somebody built a piano and then coincidentally realized that it could be used to create music.
SteveG View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 06 2015 at 10:50
^Correct, but still no music could be made without the piano. Is being inventive also being artistic?