FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedAdvice on Cartridge

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Advice on Cartridge
    Posted: January 13 2015 at 13:38
I have a rega RP1 and it has the give away Ortofon cartridge in it.
I'm ready to upgrade, so my question is, do I go for the Carbon or the Bias 2?
Or would you recommend something else entirely?

Thank you in anticipation of your help.
Live Long and Prosper
Catcher10 View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
VIP Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 13 2015 at 14:46
Hi Roxbrough
Depends on what sound you prefer and budget, I have no experience with either and don't read much about them on audio forums, that's not to say they are bad or anything.

In the price range of US$100 I would highly recommend a Nagaoka MP-110. A warm sounding cartridge, very analog sounding and also is the best tracking cartridge I have ever owned in that price range.

Roxbrough View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 14 2015 at 04:32
Originally posted by Catcher10 Catcher10 wrote:

Hi Roxbrough
Depends on what sound you prefer and budget, I have no experience with either and don't read much about them on audio forums, that's not to say they are bad or anything.

In the price range of US$100 I would highly recommend a Nagaoka MP-110. A warm sounding cartridge, very analog sounding and also is the best tracking cartridge I have ever owned in that price range.

That's useful, thank you. Would the sound be too polite with an MF A3 feeding MA RS8's?
Live Long and Prosper
Catcher10 View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
VIP Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 14 2015 at 10:42
Originally posted by Roxbrough Roxbrough wrote:

Hi Roxbrough

That's useful, thank you. Would the sound be too polite with an MF A3 feeding MA RS8's?