Forum Home Forum Home > Other music related lounges > Tech Talk
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic Closed600W Keyboard Amp!

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Direct Link To This Post Topic: 600W Keyboard Amp!
    Posted: November 27 2015 at 14:16
Hey, so Ive been playing piano for 10 years. I am into prog, so I just got a keyboard. The problem is, the guy from guitar center told me that this amp that was 600 watts is great. So I got it. My keyboard will be shipped in a few days. My question is. Will this amp be safe to practice at home? I am pretty scared that I will go deaf lol. 
DDPascalDD View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 27 2015 at 15:20
Well I guess you can adjust the volume right? You can hear it yourself when it's too loud, can't you?
pitfall View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 27 2015 at 17:18
A 600 watt amp is only twice as loud as a 60 watt amp, so don't sweat about it.LOL
Dean View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Retired Admin and Amateur Layabout

Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 28 2015 at 06:45
Ermm yes and no. Yes 600W is twice as loud as a 60W amp but the difference in Sound Pressure Level (SPL) at 6 feet is the difference between "uncomfortably loud" and "painfully loud". 

A practice amp for home use is generally around 10W with a single speaker which, given the sensitivity of a typical loud speaker, would equate to around 94dB SPL at 6 feet, and would be considered as between "very loud" and "uncomfortably loud". Take that amp on stage where the audience is say 50 feet away and that SPL drops to "moderately loud" but would be drowned-out by the drums and other amplified equipment on stage.