Forum Home Forum Home > Other music related lounges > Music and Musicians Exchange
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedHow can I write something in Lydian?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Direct Link To This Post Topic: How can I write something in Lydian?
    Posted: December 08 2015 at 16:51
I've been playing guitar for around 7-8 years, but only recently I took it a lot more seriously and looked for a good teacher and now I'm taking lessons.

I'm trying to write something progressive. It's kinda sounding jazzy. I don't know how I got it to sound this way, but I've been working with my not-so-thorough-yet theoretical knowledge. It kinda has many moods to it, which is exactly what I want.

The song is mainly in natural minor with a Phrygian part and a brief diminished part (at the end of the solo leading to the Phrygian part). Again I don't know how I got it to sound this way, but I mainly just followed my ear and experimented with stuff I usually don't venture into.

So now I'm trying to include a Lydian part, but for whatever reason the melodies I'm writing seem to want to be in the relative major of my key. It just doesn't sound right. The song is in E but particularly with the Lydian part it wants to go to B major, and it's sounding nothing like Lydian.

I've been struggling with this for a while. I'm hoping someone can help a bit with this.
Polymorphia View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 08 2015 at 17:16