Forum Home Forum Home > Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements > Report bugs here
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - When adding URL's
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedWhen adding URL's

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Blacksword View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer
Avatar

Joined: June 22 2004
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 16064
Direct Link To This Post Topic: When adding URL's
    Posted: June 06 2006 at 08:15
If I try to copy and paste a link to another site, into the body of a message it wont work..at first.

I click on the 'Insert Hyperlink' button, and HTML appears on the screen, as if prompting me to paste the URL between the brackets <> But the link you paste will just take you back to Progarchives.

When this happens I have to edit the message, and re-paste for the correct boxes come up.
Ultimately bored by endless ecstasy!
Back to Top
chopper View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: July 13 2005
Location: Essex, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 18964
Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 06 2006 at 09:01
Some people shouldn't be allowed to use computers.Wink
 
Seriously Andy, I've just inserted this hyperlink as a test - seems to work okay.
Back to Top
Snow Dog View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team

Joined: March 23 2005
Location: Caerdydd
Status: Offline
Points: 32995
Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 06 2006 at 09:02
Works for me too

http://www.bbc.co.uk/


Edited by Snow Dog - June 06 2006 at 09:03
Back to Top
Blacksword View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer
Avatar

Joined: June 22 2004
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 16064
Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 06 2006 at 10:58
Oh well, as long as I can post them one way or another..

Ultimately bored by endless ecstasy!
Back to Top
Tony R View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: July 16 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 11979
Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 15 2006 at 10:41
 Andy,only just noticed your problem with hyperlinks.

I never use the forum format buttons if I can help it.

All you have to do to create a link is to use simple forum code (ignoring the " "s and the bold format):

type ["url"]then type or paste in the full address,then type["/url"] without the ""s. Dont leave any spaces either.

 

Smile






Similar with posting an image,the copy and paste does not always work.

Using this image


First right click on the image you want to put on PA and select "properties"(try with the image above) Then highlight the image's "address/location"- in this case: http://www.talcualdigital.com/Especiales/images/Rooney-solito.jpg

and click "copy"

In the post box where you want to place the image type (again without the " s and the bold type)

["img"]
then paste your copied image address after the ] (Ctrl+V to paste) then type["/img"]

When you "preview post" or "post reply" you will see the picture.Smile

Edited by Tony R - June 15 2006 at 10:49
Back to Top
crimson thing View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member


Joined: April 28 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 848
Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 15 2006 at 11:36

Just testing Tony's picture instructions....

if it works, it's a picture of me........

"Every man over forty is a scoundrel." GBS
Back to Top
crimson thing View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member


Joined: April 28 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 848
Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 15 2006 at 11:37
Yippeeeeeee! Thanks Tony!
 
And the signature pic is my wife's version of the pic in stained glass........


Edited by crimson thing - June 15 2006 at 11:44
"Every man over forty is a scoundrel." GBS
Back to Top
Tony R View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: July 16 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 11979
Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 15 2006 at 15:08
It's my pleasure.

I am trialling Internet Explorer 7 and it does not work well with the forum.I've had to learn to do things for myself...
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.461 seconds.

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.