Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Prog Music Lounge
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedWhile my guitar gently weeps...

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Honorary Collaborator

Direct Link To This Post Topic: While my guitar gently weeps...
    Posted: July 03 2006 at 14:34
As most of you know by now, I'm not a musician. I don't deny that, at some time in my life, I would have liked to learn how to play an instrument. However, I never did, and that of course has influenced the way I listen to music. I've been a music lover for most of my life, but the fact of not having any musical ability or training prevents me from appreciating the finer technical points of a band or musician's performance. While I can understand if someone is singing out of tune or is just bashing away at their instrument instead of actually playing it, I wouldn't be able to recognize, for instance, if a tune is played in 5/4, 7/8 or whatever.

What I mean by this long preamble is, non-musicians like me listen with their ears, but especially and chiefly with their heart. This is why we may have a distinct preference for those musicians who can express real emotion through their instruments, and tend to dismiss gratuitous displays of soulless technical proficiency.