FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedCryptic Vision Live

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cryptic Vision Live
    Posted: July 04 2006 at 16:23

I am a bit ashamed to say, I am a musician, and I have never been to a CD release party. That is until Fri June 29th at the Sailing Squadron in Sarasota, Fl. I am supposed to support local arts and artists, but have conveniently found other things to take up my time. I have to again admit, I am not sure I will ever want to go again, unless the band is Cryptic Vision. That is because they have spoiled it. Yes, I am a fan. I am biased. I have friends in this band. Long time friends. But then again I have lots of long time friends in the music business, and none of the experiences have ever prompted me to write.

It was a casual setting, outside, wine beer and munchies. The no-see-ums were biting pretty badly, but plenty of people to see and re-acquaint with. Then as the evening settled in, with no real fanfare, Cryptic Vision took the stage. The members ambled up, kind of plunked their instruments to ensure of their operation. Then, just like their second CD opens, so does the concert. The silence swells into a colossal forest of music. It is filled with colors, textures, and of course, sounds that have not been approached before. It was like discovering a new tribe deep in the rain forest.