Forum Home Forum Home > Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements > Welcome newbies!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedIs Mahavishnu Orchestra prog rock?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Groupie
Forum Groupie

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Is Mahavishnu Orchestra prog rock?
    Posted: August 12 2005 at 22:37

Another newbie here. I can't believe I've been on the net for years and never found this place. Great website! I've been feasting on the reviews, finding all sorts of new directions to go in.

I love all the 70s prog standards: Tangerine Dream, Gentle Giant, Gong, and the 70s Canadian stuff, FM and Nash the Slash. Check out FM's first album, Black Noise, I think the best prog rock to come out of Canada. Syrinx is another forgotten Canadian band. They were doing electronic music in the very early 1970s.

I vote Mahavishnu Orchestra from the early 70s to be prog rock. I know they usually get lumped in with jazz-rock fusion, but there's more rock than jazz, and they really took rock in an amazing, unique direction, which is what I think prog rock is about. The albums "Inner Mounting Flame" and "Birds of Fire" are staggering.

I think Miles Davis' 1969 Bitches Brew should be considered one of the first prog rock records. I know, jazz-rock fusion again, but Miles was the first to think of taking rock music in an innovative new direction. Jazz-rock seems so obvious now, but he was the first to do it, and this is still the best electric jazz-rock fusion album ever, any prog rock fan would appreciate it.  Interesting that John McLaughlin was the guitarist on this album and the Mahavishnu Orchestra albums.

Hope I'm not being a heretic bringing up jazz-rock!

Tim
FM, Nash the Slash, Camel
olafr View Drop Down
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 14 2005 at 10:32