FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedPainful Muscal Experiment

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Painful Muscal Experiment
    Posted: March 18 2015 at 14:02
I thought I would try an experiment after hearing one too many discussions/commentaries about Kanye West, Beyonce, what great artists they were and realized I knew nothing of their material.  I don't like being uninformed and in important subjects and like to look at dissenting opinions to better inform myself.

So, after a painful hour or so, in which I explored Kanye, Beyonce, Lady Gaga, and the top three songs in the British and Canadian current Top 40.

The results:  Complete despair over what constitutes good music/talent in the music industry.
   Affirmation that I am exploring the music that works best for me.

I'm not a strong prog-head compared to many here and have mostly explored the edges of Prog metal, Heavy Prog, Crossover and Prog-related, with the rare foray into Symphonic and Eclectic until I discovered this site.  I listen to a local Indie Rock/Pop station which is fresher than the overly testosterone-ish Modern Rock station and the tired-but-comfortable Classic Rock station.  I also don't think i am particularly prejudiced, liking a fair amount of indie rock and hard rock some mostly 70s funk and disco and a lot of the edgier 90s alternative bands.

Is there anybody else out there who listens to and appreciates modern pop?  What am I missing?  All I hear are repetitive beats that don't speak to me, inane or trashy lyrics, and far too much over-the-top autotune.
The only 'positive' I can imagine is that many of these artists are physically attractive and can move well, but this is something that I do not appreciate being tied to music.

Any thoughts?

Edited by twalsh - March 18 2015 at 14:04
More heavy prog, please!
Polymorphia View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member