Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Suggest New Bands and Artists
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

In Gowan Ring for Prog Folk

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Folk/Eclectic/PSIKE/Metal Teams

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gordy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: In Gowan Ring for Prog Folk
    Posted: November 14 2021 at 17:43
In Gowan Ring is the self-described "symbolist folk" project of Portland-based American multi-instrumentalist Bobin Eirth, which began in Utah sometime in the early 1990s. Going by B'eirth (or B'ee), the self-taught, peripatetic musician has released six albums, a handful of EPs and a number of archival collections, and remains active as of 2021. The project is inspired by folk music from around the world as well as early European music, in addition to more modern influences ranging from Tim Buckley, Brigitte Fontaine and Fred Neil to Malicorne, the Pentangle and Alan Stivell. B'eirth plays guitar, harp, flute and harmonica among others, as well as unique homemade stringed instruments of his own design. A seasoned performer, he has supported and toured with such artists as Robin Williamson (of noted inspiration and elemental progressive folk group the Incredible String Band), Faun Fables, Nick Castro, Blood Axis, Woven Hand and Faun.