Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Prog Gigs, Tours and Festivals
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedVDGG - The Last Tickets For Festival Hall

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Forum Guest Group
Forum Guest Group
Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 05 2005 at 10:25

Erm..I'm no expert on genesis but the only proper release (from that time) is the Genesis Live LP which - being only a single LP - doesn't really do them justice. There is a box set with lots of live material on it including the full live version of the Lamb - there are some great BOOTS goin about though - Montreal 74, Rainbow Theater 73'.

I must say though it is quite surprsing to hear your opinions on Genesis as I see so many similarities in the early years between the bands. Although PFM could out-play Genesis blindfold I think there is a certain debt to their music in PFM's style. Particularly, the mellow, arrpegio type things, on twelve strings, mellotron, and hammond. Genesis were massive in Italy before they were here in the UK! I think Nursery chryme was a NO 1 LP. I think Genesis along with VDGG, Yes, ELP, and Crimson were the most important bands to the burgeoning Italian prog scene - mixed in with the Italian's love of the classical and operatic - makes for some of the most enduring prog ever, Banco's Darwin, ARea's Crac, Celeste's Celeste, PFM's Per un Amico and so on. Have you heard off Celeste Ninian? - I'm sure you would have - they're very like the early, mellow PFM-sound. I do think the early Genesis LPs'a re ruined by inferior production, esp. trespass, and some of Nursery Chryme.

Peter Gabriel has just toured the UK - did anyone go to this?