FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic Closedcategorically speaking?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 18 2005 at 21:39
Originally posted by Rob The Plant Rob The Plant wrote:

Seems a bit harsh to close off some great later prog. It may not be a s numerous, but it's there man.

i have an obsession with the 70s. such a serious one that when listening to non-70s music i feel like im "coming down". cant be helped
Sweetnighter View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 18 2005 at 22:14
Welcome 70sSoundquality!

Its nice to see somebody like you on the boards here, I may actually use you as a resource in the future... I'm just getting into recording myself, although I don't have near the resources you do so I'm going digital, which doesn't bother me as much as it may for you... although I'd love to get my hands dirty in that kind of recording . You really have a lot of retro stuff... like that 57 Wurlitzer, wow, thats ancient stuff... makes me think of Sun Ra and his Arkestra . If you don't mind my asking, how old are you and where do you live? And how long have you been recording what instruments do you play?

In terms of digital vs. analog, I think you're too harsh on ditigal technology. Although digital can sound colder and doesn't have the natural warmth/distortion that tube analog recording has, there are some benefits. MIDI allows an amateur musician to be a pro one man band! Some may criticize and say that MIDI takes the skill out, but I think it creates a market for a new type of skill, namely musical programming/sequencing. Although most of the board here won't praise it too highly, newer electronica/techno/dance music incorporates pretty sophisticated programming through MIDI.