Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 14 2014 at 19:50
Billy Cobham, drummer extraordinaire.
SteveG View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 15 2014 at 10:57
Originally posted by Dean Dean wrote:

Originally posted by SteveG SteveG wrote:

a few left the strings as they were and actually played the guitar completely backwards and upside down. I can think of two. Can you think of any?

Dick Dale, Doyle Bramhall II, Dan Swano

You forgot the electric original: American blues man Albert King. I don't believe that's him pictured above.

Edited by SteveG - August 15 2014 at 11:13
uvtraveler View Drop Down
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 15 2014 at 12:15
As a left-handed guitarist I can tell you that the percentage is probably less than 10% because if there is any way you can pull off being a righty, your life is way easier.  A lot of dominant lefties may have enough dexterity to switch to right-handed playing.  I just couldn't do it, even though I actually write with my right hand.

I can play a right-handed guitar upside down better than about 80% of the right-handed players playing right-side up because I had to do it so often at friends' houses or jams when I didn't have my guitar.

The hardest part is buying new guitars...the selection you can play in the stores are very limited.  I used to test out right-handed models and hope for the best when I ordered the left-handed version.  Now, I just go to large chains like Guitar Center and see what they have and buy the best one I can afford.

So, there are probably really 10% of the population who would have preferred to play guitar lefty, but a decent percent switched to righty to avoid the complications.
Dean View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Retired Admin and Amateur Layabout

Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 15 2014 at 13:37