Forum Description: Create polls on topics related to progressive music
URL: http://www.progarchives.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=97895
Printed Date: April 27 2024 at 14:48
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Exclusionsist or Inclusivist?
Posted By: ExittheLemming
Subject: Exclusionsist or Inclusivist?
Date Posted: April 12 2014 at 05:35
Just an exploratory poll to attempt to get the feel for where the good folks on PA feel the site should be heading to ensure its survival into the future. I'm an old man (51) and would happily concede that I have probably been left behind by many of the developments in modern progressive music e.g I still believe that what constitutes Prog ceased to exist circa 1979. I was an Admin on PA for about a year and during that time I discerned a palpable dichotomy between the (mostly but not exclusively younger) members who believed that Prog should encompass developments in contemporary Rock c/f the (mainly but not exclusively older brigade) who held fast to the idea that Prog was a historic phenomenon. Given that Krautrock, Neo prog, Canterbury Scene and RPI are historic evaluations of prevailing styles of music should PA perhaps bite the bullet and decide if what is avowedly an archive should  encompass the contemporary?

-------------

Replies:
Posted By: Tom Ozric
Date Posted: April 12 2014 at 05:58
I believe that current Prog bands are still building on the foundations led by the 70's giants. Why I would make such a statement ?? Perhaps if I present an example here : Thieves' Kitchen. I don't recall ever hearing this direction of Prog, the impeccable level of performance, and such cerebral arrangements as what I hear on 'One For Sorrow, Two For Joy'. It relies a lot on classic Fusion, but it heads somewhere totally different ; symphonic, folk, avante etc. To me, fresh and exciting. Maybe I'm crazy.......

Date Posted: April 12 2014 at 06:03