Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Prog Polls
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedExclusionsist or Inclusivist?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 7>
Poll Question: Does Contemporary Progressive in 2014 still constitute Prog?
Poll Choice Votes Poll Statistics
46 [83.64%]
9 [16.36%]
This topic is closed, no new votes accepted

Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Exclusionsist or Inclusivist?
    Posted: April 12 2014 at 05:35
Just an exploratory poll to attempt to get the feel for where the good folks on PA feel the site should be heading to ensure its survival into the future. I'm an old man (51) and would happily concede that I have probably been left behind by many of the developments in modern progressive music e.g I still believe that what constitutes Prog ceased to exist circa 1979. I was an Admin on PA for about a year and during that time I discerned a palpable dichotomy between the (mostly but not exclusively younger) members who believed that Prog should encompass developments in contemporary Rock c/f the (mainly but not exclusively older brigade) who held fast to the idea that Prog was a historic phenomenon. Given that Krautrock, Neo prog, Canterbury Scene and RPI are historic evaluations of prevailing styles of music should PA perhaps bite the bullet and decide if what is avowedly an archive should  encompass the contemporary?
Tom Ozric View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer

Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 12 2014 at 05:58