Forum Home Forum Home > Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements > Report bugs here
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Message box weirdness

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JimAnder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Message box weirdness
    Posted: January 20 2023 at 17:39
I'm new to the ProgArchives forum but searched the archives and didn't find anyone else asking about this so forgive me if it's been asked before. There are two things I'm wondering about... First, whenever I start a new thread or reply to an existing one the Message box opens with a little square character right where I would normally be starting to type my message.  I've just been leaving it there, but what is it? Is it important? Is it just something to do with the browser I am using? (Safari v16.1 in macOS Monterey (12.6.1)

The other issue is more problematic... After I've typed some text, if I want to go back and edit it then where ever I drop the cursor isn't where the form starts editing, and I either backspace over some text I didn't mean to delete or I start typing in the middle of a word. It's as if it's not WYSIWYG. Is it just me? Any workarounds?  Oddly enough I just tried it while writing this post and now it's fine, but I had this problem in each of my previous posts.  Very strange indeed!
NotAProghead View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Errors & Omissions Team

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NotAProghead Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 20 2023 at 19:00
I always deleted the square character. Now I see that if I don't delete it it's not shown in the post.

Didn't understand the second problem. Confused

Edited by NotAProghead - January 20 2023 at 19:03
Who are you and who am I to say we know the reason why... (D. Gilmour)
I prophesy disaster View Drop Down