Forum Home Forum Home > Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements > Report bugs here
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - What's with the buzzing?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedWhat's with the buzzing?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
VanderGraafKommandöh View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer
Avatar

Joined: July 04 2005
Location: Malaria
Status: Offline
Points: 89372
Direct Link To This Post Topic: What's with the buzzing?
    Posted: September 04 2006 at 00:57
By the way, there is a different one on Photobucket with a bee, instead of a wasp, but the buzzing is the same.  Luckily it hasn't got to PA, but if it does, I'll be sure to supply a screen shot or something!
Back to Top
Tony R View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: July 16 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 11979
Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 02 2006 at 18:17
Thanks Fitz,
I've emailed Max..
Back to Top
Fitzcarraldo View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: April 30 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1835
Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 02 2006 at 18:14
Originally posted by M@X [email protected] wrote:

Guys, can you send a Screenshoot of the Buzzzing Ads -- so I can remove it from the inventory of ads at (TribalFusion or ValueClick ) ...

Thanks

PS : Send screenshot to [email protected]


 
Back to Top
E-Dub View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: February 24 2006
Location: Elkhorn, WI
Status: Offline
Points: 7910
Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 01 2006 at 13:38
<<E-Dub,

Can't you just click on the loudspeaker icon in the System Tray/Notification Area (right hand side of the Task Bar) and select Mute? Then you could browse the forums to your heart's content without hearing the buzzing. If you want to listen to a streamed track, then just reverse the process temporarily.

(If you don't have a loudspeaker icon in the Notification Area then go to Control Panel, double-click on Sounds and Audio Devices, click on the Volume tab if it is not already on top, and then select 'Place volume icon in the taskbar'.>>

I logged back on. I hate being away from PA!

Like Geck0, I have uploaded most of my discs to iTunes and listen to them through my computer. I do hit the 'mute' button at home, but like listening to my tunes while I work. Makes it very frustrating with Marillion's "The Invisible Man" on and that friggin' buzzing comes up.

E

iTunes: "Neverland" from Marillion's Marbles By The Sea
Back to Top
VanderGraafKommandöh View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer
Avatar

Joined: July 04 2005
Location: Malaria
Status: Offline
Points: 89372
Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 01 2006 at 13:16
Unless, like me, you listen to Music through headphones on your PC, whilst browsing PA.

I've tried to use the adblock plugin for Firefox but without success.

Firstly, it doesn't seem to work on PA and secondly, it works too well on MySpace (it stops me from listening to bands music and also stops my own track selection from playing).

It's frustrating!  Maybe Mike can tell me where I'm going wrong?
Back to Top
Fitzcarraldo View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: April 30 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1835
Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 01 2006 at 13:13
E-Dub,

Can't you just click on the loudspeaker icon in the System Tray/Notification Area (right hand side of the Task Bar) and select Mute? Then you could browse the forums to your heart's content without hearing the buzzing. If you want to listen to a streamed track, then just reverse the process temporarily.

(If you don't have a loudspeaker icon in the Notification Area then go to Control Panel, double-click on Sounds and Audio Devices, click on the Volume tab if it is not already on top, and then select 'Place volume icon in the taskbar'.)

Back to Top
mystic fred View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: March 13 2006
Location: Londinium
Status: Offline
Points: 4252
Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 01 2006 at 13:10
i have heard the "buzzzzz" on other web sites and other computers too - it's turning into a swarm!!!
Confused
 
 
 
 
 
Prog Archives Tour Van
Back to Top
E-Dub View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: February 24 2006
Location: Elkhorn, WI
Status: Offline
Points: 7910
Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 01 2006 at 12:53
As much as I hate to say it, I think I'm going to power down PA while at the office. This place gives me a nice outlet while taking a breather between projects; however, the buzzing is getting to be too much. I refreshed it a good 3 or 4 times and that insipid buzzing wouldn't go away. I've heard it way too much today, I'm tired of it, and nobody does anything about it.

E
Back to Top
Fitzcarraldo View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: April 30 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1835
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 23 2006 at 23:16
Originally posted by crimson thing crimson thing wrote:

^ When we had our computer reloaded recently (after the hard drive got wiped when installing Norton GoBack..Angry.), the guy who fixed it told us that SpyBot & AdAware (which we previously used) could cause conflicts with the all-inclusive security packages (such as Norton, which we now have). (He wasn't selling us anything, BTW, as he fixed the PC for free...Clap..and for that reason, Ladd's of Crediton, Devon deserve a plug.)
 
Any truth in this, from anyone's experience?


I have Norton AntiVirus + Ad-Aware SE Personal + Spybot Search & Destroy + Windows Defender + SpywareBlaster and I've never had any trouble.

In the past I found that Ad-Aware, Spybot and Defender picked up different malware, but these days I find Defender and Ad-Aware seem to be better at detecting malware than Spybot (at least the malware that tries to get into my PCs). However the blocker part of Spybot Search & Destroy (Spybot-SD Resident) still seems to be useful, although SpywareBlaster is the master blocker (as of today 6,557 blacklisted items vs Sybot-SD Resident's 1,174). But blockers are different to scanners, so for better protection I use both types.

I also periodically run the Index.dat Suite (a.k.a. IDSuite) by Ur I.T. Mate Group to erase all traces of my browsing, including the contents of the various index.dat files that contain the URLs of every single Web page one has visited and are impossible to erase using normal methods (not the same as History, Temp files or cookies, which IDSuite also erases). There are commercial equivalents to IDSuite, but I find it does the same job for free. But I would advise only using IDSuite if one is very familiar with Windows internals and after reading the instructions and FAQs carefully.

Back to Top
The Miracle View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer


Joined: May 29 2005
Location: hell
Status: Offline
Points: 28427
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 23 2006 at 15:24
 I have Norton Internet Security and it looks safe. It's one of those free ipod type things, and they're spyware free. They make money off of people participating in offers in hopes of geting free whatever.

Edited by The Miracle - August 23 2006 at 15:24
Back to Top
Tony R View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: July 16 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 11979
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 23 2006 at 08:18
I have installed on my PC:
Norton Systemworks + Internet Security Suite (Firewall/Anti Virus etc)

I also use Spybot S&D.

I ahve had no problems whatsoever.

============================================
PS

The only time I've ever had a conflict on my computer is between Nero and Pinnacle software. I dont know if this was ever resolved but 2 years ago it was a known conflict. It caused my cd drives to freeze when I inserted a disc.
Back to Top
crimson thing View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member


Joined: April 28 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 848
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 23 2006 at 08:12
^ When we had our computer reloaded recently (after the hard drive got wiped when installing Norton GoBack..Angry.), the guy who fixed it told us that SpyBot & AdAware (which we previously used) could cause conflicts with the all-inclusive security packages (such as Norton, which we now have). (He wasn't selling us anything, BTW, as he fixed the PC for free...Clap..and for that reason, Ladd's of Crediton, Devon deserve a plug.)
 
Any truth in this, from anyone's experience?
"Every man over forty is a scoundrel." GBS
Back to Top
Tony R View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: July 16 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 11979
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 23 2006 at 07:16
Originally posted by The Miracle The Miracle wrote:

I've found a way... actually zap that mosquito with your mouse and close the window that pops up. The sound should stop, at least it works for me.


Just to be on the safe side you need Spybot S&D or Adaware or Microsoft's own spyware detection product (all free)to check out your PC for spyware/malware etc that could now be in your system because you clicked on the ad.

No doubt Mike could clarify this..
    
Back to Top
crimson thing View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member


Joined: April 28 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 848
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 23 2006 at 07:05
^ Are you sure you haven't accidentally ordered a boxful of mossies?
"Every man over forty is a scoundrel." GBS
Back to Top
The Miracle View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer


Joined: May 29 2005
Location: hell
Status: Offline
Points: 28427
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 22 2006 at 21:32
I've found a way... actually zap that mosquito with your mouse and close the window that pops up. The sound should stop, at least it works for me.
Back to Top
The Wizard View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer
Avatar

Joined: July 18 2005
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 7341
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 22 2006 at 21:01

Someone please kill it for good!

Back to Top
E-Dub View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: February 24 2006
Location: Elkhorn, WI
Status: Offline
Points: 7910
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 22 2006 at 20:59
... and please tell me quick because I'm going to lose it if I hear that friggin' bug one more time!!!

E
Back to Top
E-Dub View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: February 24 2006
Location: Elkhorn, WI
Status: Offline
Points: 7910
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 22 2006 at 19:57
Ad Block symbol where, Mike? You say the browser?

I see Karryn Allyson's on the top artists. She's from Kansas City and my brother just about got into a fist fight with her boyfriend (conductor of the Kansas City Symphony). Saw her a couple of times down in the city...and she's sexy as @#$&!

E
Back to Top
MikeEnRegalia View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: April 22 2005
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 17178
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 21 2006 at 08:59
Originally posted by E-Dub E-Dub wrote:

I tried using AdBlock and Firefox and it's still doing it.

E


You need to block more elements. Click the adblock symbol in the bottom right corner of the browser and then block the SCRIPT element that causes the buzzing. Only active content (scripts, flash animations etc.) can cause sounds to be played. If you just block the annoying image of the ad the script keeps on running in the background.



Edited by MikeEnRegalia - August 21 2006 at 09:10
Back to Top
VanderGraafKommandöh View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer
Avatar

Joined: July 04 2005
Location: Malaria
Status: Offline
Points: 89372
Direct Link To This Post Posted: August 21 2006 at 07:42
It's also turned up on Photobucket, much to my annoyance!

F5 is being overused by me at the moment.  That gets rid of the sound, until the next time it appears.  I get it all the time in The Velvet Room and now in Photobucket (which [email protected] obviously cannot solve!).

It's the most annoying advert I've ever come across!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.309 seconds.

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.