Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Queen - Made In Heaven CD (album) cover




Prog Related

3.28 | 304 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

1 stars . and should have stayed in Heaven!

As a Queen-completionist I bought this album immediately after its' release in 1995. I read several very enthousiastic reviews on this album that gave me the impression it was a "must have". As can be seen from the rest of my review, it turned out to be a huge disappointment.

1) It's A Beautyful Day [4/10]
2) Made In Heaven [5/10]
3) Let Me Live [4/10]
4) Mother Love [5/10]
5) My Life Has Been Saved [2/10]
6) I Was Born To Love You [3/10]
7) Heaven For Everyone [4/10]
8) Too Much Love Will Kill You [3/10]
9) You Don't Fool Me [4/10]
10) A Winter's Tale [5/10]
11) It's A Beautiful Day (reprise) [4/10]
12) Yeah [hidden track] [1/10]
13) Made In Heaven (instrumental) [hidden track] [1/10]

Was this Queen's final chapter? IMO it was not. After Queen's superb revival back in 1991 with "Innuendo" it sadly was all over. After Freddie's demise the synergy that made Queen such a great band was gone. "Made In Heaven" is definitely missing something (or must I say someone?). The songs aren't that memorable and you can hardly call it a new album because it contains five rehashed songs, two versions of a new song (i.e. It's A Beautiful Day) and two superfluous hidden tracks. The instrumental hidden track makes it all painfully clear. It lasts for more than 22 minutes, while musically nothing really happens. But you keep on listening because you're still hoping that suddenly Freddie will start to sing a new song. However deep down inside you realize that he's gone for good, and that is sad. Sad but true ..
I recommend this album only to Queen-completionists, because it doesn't add anything musically worthwhile. Everything it contains has already been done by Queen on previous albums in a much better way.

Album rating: 32% = 1 star

Draconean | 1/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this QUEEN review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives