Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Brian Eno - Here Come the Warm Jets CD (album) cover


Brian Eno


Progressive Electronic

3.73 | 256 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jake E.
4 stars After Eno's departure form Roxy Music he recorded two albums (Here Come The Warm Jets, Taking Tiger Mountain By Strategy) to show the roxy fans how Roxy Music would have sounded if he took control of the band, instead of Bryan Ferry. This album much like the first two Roxy Music albums take time to get used to. Eno takes control of vocals, synthesizer, treatments, and wrote all the music:::Also includes Phil Manzanera, Robert Fripp, Paul Rouldoph, and others...

1. Needles In The Camels Eye::::::: Starts off the album with a strong blaring guitars, drums and bass, great rock song, most accessible on the entire album.

2. The Paw Paw Negro Blowtoarch::::::: "My,my,my" weird, hard to describe this song, jiggling guitars, funky drum rhythm, malfunctioning synthesizers, obscure lyrics presented in the most un-serious way possible??

3. Baby's On Fire::::::: Best song on the album, begins with a synth-rhythm that is carried over from the cecound track, in sync with drum symbols, disturbing lyrics, followed by a 3min. guitar solo_ by Robert Fripp, treated by Eno_ that seals the deal with this song.

4. Cindy Tells Me::::::: "Cindy tells me" sounds roxy, great song, feel good lyrics, Manzanera on treated guitar, synth that resinates inside you brain, "But that's what they want and that's what they choose"

5. Driving Me Backwards::::::: I've heard Eno always ways a Velvet Underground fan, Piano, Bass, treated guitar??, dark song, vocal presentation will trippp you the heck out.

6. On Some Far Away Beach::::::::: Soft beautiful song, almost instumental.

7. Blank Frank::::::: Sounds like something from Pink Floyd's A Saucerful Of Secrets, wild, clapping drums, droning guitar, matching bass, weird machines??, crazy, this would be the most psychedelic song on this album, followed by Baby's On Fire.

8. Dead Finks Don't Talk::::::::: A song about Eno's departure, and Ferry's dominance "More for me bless my soul", at one point Eno imitates Ferry's voice almost perfectly, ends with Eno creating atonal sounds with his synthesizer.

9. Some Of Them Are Old:::::::: Semi-Soft song, maybe secound most accessible song on the album, includes a treated youkolayley solo, listen for the bells.

10. Here Come The Warm Jets::::::::: Here they come, strong synth/guitar leads, an instumental with vocals, this song countinues the medley over and over, yet each time is a little different.

Jake E. | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this BRIAN ENO review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.