Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Devin Townsend - Devin Townsend Project: Ki CD (album) cover


Devin Townsend


Experimental/Post Metal

3.84 | 322 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

I Love Internet
3 stars Iīm gonna go thru this return of the giant D track by track.

Ki, as stated in the review before, is the the first part in a four album series.

1.A Monday. Nice, short, mellow opener. This intro song always puts me on a good mood.

2. Coast. Still very mellow and laidback. I really enjoy Duris maxwells drumming on this song. Devin sings maybe more beautifully here than ever. Very good track.

3. Disruptr. This one sounds a little funny to me. The kinda Hetfield-esque main riff (although distortionless) and the rather quiet growled vocals certainly give this song a rather weird identity. Heavy metal in disguise...

4. Gato. This song provides us with more disguised heavy metal. Here we get to hear the guest vocalist Ché Dorval whose voice I find to be quite enjoyable. Really canīt say a bad thing about this song. Everything is good here, vocals, guitars, drumming and bass.

5. Terminal. Things get slowed down on this song. Devin provides us with beautiful restrained vocals and they are backed up with a good guitar riff?/line... perhaps my favourit song on the album.

6.Heaven Send. As Maxwells drumming opens this track and we can here that the tempo has been lifted again, not much but still... Again the guitar playing is very simplistic, but still very nice. First I had some trouble with the end of the chorus, but with further listening Iīve started to like it. This one is still among the better ones of the album.

7. Ainīt never gonna win. This is a short jam. Rather pointless, if you as me. Perhaps my least favorit track of the album.

8. Winter. Quite similar with Terminal. I donīt really know why, but I donīt like this quite as much as Terminal. There are days when I can skip this song without hesitation, but then there are days that are made for these type of songs.

9. Trainfire. Here we get Devin infamous Elvis impersonation. This one is among the weaker songs of the album for me. This just doesnīt do anything for me. Well except for Ches singing at the end, but I hardly find it worth my while to bore myself for almost five minutes to hear couple of seconds of good singing.

10. Lady Helen. Very very lush. I think this is the prettiest song Devin has ever crafted. This one would make cry if I still knew how to...

11. Ki. The longest song on the album with almost 10 minutes of length. Is it also the best. Well at least for me itīs not. This one opens with some very nice guitar playing and soon enough a choir of Devins joins in on the fun. The build up towards the end certainly among the highlights of the album for me. Devins guitar playing is really nice thru out the song and so is his singing. Even if this isnīt the best song of the album itīs not far from it.

12. Quiet Riot. While slightly fillerish this song ainīt a total and complete waste of time. And it lasts only 3 minutes so at least one canīt waste too much time listening to this one.

13. Demon League. And so we have reached the final song. The opening riff is a nice and quite haunting. Then we get some more of the great restrained vocals from Devin that he has served us thru out the album. Nice end to a nice album.

If it wasnīt for the few bad apples this would have been a four star album. People who have enjoyed Devins previous offering are likely to find something good on here too, even if this is very different from Devys previous efforts. As to who else I would recommend this one, I would maybe say... Pink Floyd fans maybe? Well Devin is such a highly regarded artist here in the prog circles that I personally feel like, almost every progger should check out some of his stuff. I would advice to start with Terria.

I Love Internet | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this DEVIN TOWNSEND review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives