Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Genesis - Turn It On Again - The Hits CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

2.26 | 124 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

2 stars #56 Review

I will start by saying that this album was a hit, it managed to get even 4 platinum in some countries, so from money Genesis perspective, this was a good release, meanwhile i can't imagine me or most of us even daring to buy this thing, unless you have nothing else to buy.

I encourage you to read the titles at the top of this page, in its album description, i will only focus and point out the ones that are different in length and structure to the original album releases:

- Mama (Single Edit): It starts sooner, a lot sooner, the wait for the keyboard is shorter and what the keyboard plays before the singing is also cut a bit (no repetition), the instrumental intermission is also cut short, and it fades out earlier at the guitar solo, making the original 7 minute track into a 5:20 one.

- Abacab (Single Edit): Based on the video version, its a terrible conversion, this doesn't say much, but i have literally done better mixes than this one. This one cuts right before the instrumental at 3:30 and re-starts part of the introduction, making this almost 7 minute track a 4 minute one.

- No Son of Mine (Hits Edit): This one cuts a bit of the introduction... i really don't like this song much, so i don't know what really got cut in here to make this track a minute short, its probably just the introduction and ending getting a bit cut, i'm glad because i really don't like how the track ends.

- Tonight, Tonight, Tonight (Single Edit): This is probably the worst offender, the edit cut is worse than Abacab, it reduces the track to literally half its length, skipping the instrumental section entirely, this is also based on the video version. The cut is extremelly jarring and cheap in comparison to all the others, because its just a fade-in, even the Michelob ad did it better, i can't believe this is a real release, i have literally done better edits than this.

- Congo (Hits Edit): Doesn't say that its an edit (on YT), and despite this song already having a single version, this one is slightly different as it includes the introduction, but still not the solo, what an odd choice really, they could've just added the single version.

- Carpet Crawlers 1999: A new rendition of the classic Genesis song done in studio, with some approval from the band, apparently not Mike nor Tony played anything in this version, yet Phil, Steve and Peter did give new lines, but i can't confirm. Compositions will always be beautyful, no matter the form, but in this case, i'm not a fan, most of the things i like from the original are missing (like the keyboards) and the new sections added don't work for me. The only reason i don't hate this track its because of were it comes, rather than whatever this new version is trying to accomplish.

Even though this album has some changes, they aren't interesting enough to warrant a listen, the edits are mostly bad and unnecessary, and the final track, was released as a single that i already reviewed, and again, it doesn't warrant someone buying this collection, but its a welcome adition. Overall, this official release was apparently pretty popular, and at the time, i can see why but also i can't, during that time it was easy to find bootleg compilations that probably would've featured the same tracks and in complete form, and nowadays its even worse, because of the easy to access music on the internet, having the package could be interesting, but in my case, i feel better by getting the albums separately and the single as well, the only saving grace of this compilation would be the "Hits Edits", but those are a few, are bad and/or not interesting, so this compilation is a no from me, only for hardcore fans that even want the trash edits that Genesis did in a few minutes... i seriously can't stress enough how worse than amateur the edit is in Tonight, Tonight, Tonight, they should've atleast fixed that one for this release.

FalconBleck | 2/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this GENESIS review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.