Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Queensr˙che - Rage For Order CD (album) cover




Progressive Metal

4.02 | 346 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

5 stars Queensryche's second full-length studio album Rage For Order takes the Metallic sound of 1984's The Warning, tones it down a shade and injects some Progressive structure and melodic keyboard and strings to evolve the sound. Rage For Order is an unsung Masterpiece by the guys from Seattle and once again cements Queensryche's reputation as the "thinking mans metal band"

1. Walk In The Shadows: Dual Guitars, Stellar vocals, melodic undertones and progressive elements... classic Queensryche. (9/10)

2. Dream In Infra Red: A softer track with a wonderful structure and a great mix of metal and melody. Geoff Tate is fantastic as usual. (9.5/10)

3. The Whisper: Memorable keyboard and dual guitar section fuel this excellent track. (9/10)

4. Gonna Get Close To You: Staccato guitars, backing strings and a haunting mood. A great song. (9/10)

5. The Killing Words: A stellar Tate performance mixed once again with exemplarary composition and lyrics. (9/10)

6. Surgical Strike: structurally basic but enjoyable nonetheless, pure metal. (8/10)

7. Neue Regal: A wonderful melodic track with progressive elements. (9/10)

8. Chemical Youth (We Are Rebellion): Staccato sections and a fast pace make this a great track. (8.5/10)

9. London: A soft melodic song which is both a ballad and an anthem. Probably the standout track on the disc. (9.5/10)

10. Screaming in Digital: Another piece with staccato elements, similar to N M 156 in many ways. A real grower. (8.5/10)

11. I Will Remember: An emotive ballad with wonderful melodic sections. A strong finish to a great album. (9/10)

Overall 90/100

Whilst not as good as Mindcrime this album will go down as one of the finest Progressive Metal albums of the 20th century. A must for any Queensryche fan or fan of Progressive Metal.

Jon_Mc | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this QUEENSRYCHE review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives