Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Genesis - ...And Then There Were Three... CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

3.44 | 1411 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

3 stars 3.7/5 REALLY

So after Steve Hackett left, Genesis was like "what the Peter left then Steve left what are we gonna do now?" They did what they did previously they decided to carry on but now as a trio and so the Three Man Era was born. Hence the name of the album "...And Then There Were Three...". Returning for the band was Phil Collins on vocals and drums, Tony Banks on the keys and Mike Rutherford taking care of both bass and guitars in the studio( In live shows they were now accompanied by Daryl Stuermer and Chester Thompson because it is impossible for Mike to play both live at the same time(of course)). Anyways, on with the album. Genesis themselves especially Mike Rutherford believed that this album was the worst one they ever did(Uh-Oh). I happen to disagree with Mike though(I would say Calling All Stations or We Can't Dance is their worst). The album cover has images of men who happen to look like cowboys smoking cigarettes and a background of evening skies or something of that sort. It's a decent album cover but I could live without it though. On with the album right. To me this album signaled a decline in quality for Genesis and their music. There are still some strong points and proggy bits on here but not as strong as their previous material. On with the album.

1. Down And Out- This begins with some synths and then its explodes with a fury of drums by Phil. This is one of those proggy bits on the album and it is still great and Grade A. I happen to like it quite a bit. I wouldn't really consider this song classic Genesis though. With that said it is still a great listen. 4/5

2. Undertow- I love this one, you guys on PA might or might not but I personally love it. Especially during the chorus. This song features delicious keyboard and synth work from Tony Banks. I love it. Not perfect again but I do enjoy it quite a bit. 4.5/5

3. Ballad Of Big- This one tells a tale of Big Jim Cooley and how he was apparently a tough man but soon scared away by Native American tribes. Musically it's good but after a while it kind of drags on with a rather repetitive keyboard riff from Tony. Still a good tune but not great. 4/5

4. Snowbound- This one is exhilarating, it gives me chills. To many the lyrics may seem like pure cheese and they're probably right but the song is still excellent. The song's chorus however is rather repetitive and with that some points will be knocked out. 4/5

5. Burning Rope- This song is hands down the best song on the album. One of my very favorite Genesis tunes. This one is probably the only tune on here so far that could actually compete or stand up with the older classics(but this is Genesis we're talking about, they want to evolve and progress as a band).Mike does his best Steve Hackett interpretation or impersonation during the guitar solo. This song sounds rather pastoral and it is enough to bring chills down one's spine. This song is really exciting and great fun. Best on the album. 5/5

6. Deep In The Motherlode- This one is rather weak and doesn't really go anywhere though I happen to have a soft spot for it. However, objectively speaking it's repetitive and the worst song on here. And for that fact alone I have to downgrade it a few points. Sorry Genesis. 3.5/5

7. Many Too Many- This is another gem on the album. Short, sweet and to the point. However, it is still rather subtlety somewhat progressive and I like that, actually I love it. Phil delivers some great emotional vocals. 5/5

8. Scenes From A Nights Dream- This one is a funny little bit that follows Little Nemo. I find it hilarious and charming at the same time. When Phil sings "Come on you sleepy head we're waiting to go" I can't help but laugh a little. It's not perfect but still a good listen. 4/5

9. Say It's Alright Joe- This is yet again another decent listen but I've never really been too keen on this in all honesty. Though I do enjoy the chorus and when it erupts. It sounds like it came from medieval times(I love that imagery,ha) 4/5

10. The Lady Lies- This one is yet again another good listen. However at this point in the album I get the feeling that the guys are treading water and not really trying to come up with new and fresh material. I do like the keyboard solo by Tony, one of his most underrated solos. 4/5

11. Follow You, Follow Me- This one is the big hit of the album and it's a good catchy number but you get the feeling that they wanted to appeal to the masses and to mainstream radio(which brought them success of the likes that they never had before). Tony plays a fantastic keyboard solo though. To me this sounds like it's Genesis trying to appeal to a mainstream audience while still maintaining its integrity(it's works well on this occasion). Mike Rutherford came up with the catchy little guitar melody for the song's basis and it worked with great success it's a catchy little number but it's not like we haven't heard this before. 4/5

For the first time in a while I feel that Genesis didn't really progress on an album in one way or another. They were just treading water while maintaining some proggy bits. Not anywhere near as strong as their earlier material. The album gets a 46 out of 55 or 4.1 out of 5 which lands somewhere along the lines of 4 stars. But on this occasion because I feel that many of the bands songs are treading water I will give it more like a 3.7 which is gonna be 3 stars on PA. Peace Out!!

ProgMetaller2112 | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this GENESIS review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives