Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Yes - Going For The One CD (album) cover




Symphonic Prog

4.03 | 1955 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

5 stars After Relayer, Yes realized that they needed to simplify things and then they came up with Going for the One. Rick decided to come back and Patrick Moraz would soon leave. The Yes Line-up was the same one from Tales From Topographic Oceans: Jon Anderson, Steve Howe, Chris Squire, Rick Wakeman and Alan White. This album did not have the legendary Art cover from Roger Dean, Hipgnosis(known for doing Pink Floyd album covers) decided to do the art cover with the man's bum on it(why is it always a man's bum and never a lady's bum, damn it!!!!). One negative is that Eddie Offord left it to Yes as producers(He should produced it again but what can you do) and it sounds rather muddy at times. With that being said it's still a great recording, I will have to talk about it now

Here is the track listing for the album:

1. Going For The One- The title track of the album and I love it though the production is a little off and muddy, Steve guitar sounds rather country-ish(well it is a lap steel) but I love it,Yes decided to strip things down a little which some people may hate but really this is still a song that I listen to quite a bit, I love it it still has some Yes elements that we love so its not like they sold out or something, I love this song 9/10

2. Turn Of The Century- This song takes that Yes sound a little further, its a song that is quite unlike anything they've done at this point, this song just has that emotion that only Yes can achieve. It sounds rather like Classical guitar music rather than Prog but we need that once in a while instead of just rock guitar 10/10

3. Parallels- This song's bass line is addictive(Chris really knows how to utilize that instrument,haha) though it is some what repetitive, I love how they incorporate the backing vocals(only Yes can do this in Prog and not make it sound really cheesy), it kinda of reminds me of disco music, I love Rick Wakeman's solo(We are still Yes, damn it!! )is what it says to me. I love this song. 9/10

4. Wonderous Stories-This song is one of those songs that strikes you, you know you've heard a masterpiece of song writing when you are done listening to it. "It is no lie I see deeply into the future" I love that line, this is the epitome of Yes in my opinion and what they are all about, if there is one song that I would recommend to start off listening to Yes it will be this one or Roundabout but I think this one is probably a more poignant introduction. This is a musical epiphany 10/10

5. Awaken- We have arrived at a point in Yestory where the guys felt that they created the best piece they have ever done.Let me dissect the mother out of this gem of a song: It starts off with that Piano intro from Rick and then heads to "High Vibration go on"(whatever that means) and then the chants come and the hairs on the back of my neck start to stand up 'AWAKEN, GENTLE, MASS TOUCH". It sounds rather Native American and I love it, then they explode into

"Workings of man set to ply out historical life. Reregaining the flower of the fruit of his tree. All awakening, all restoring you" .

Afterwards we hear rather exotic sounding keyboards and instruments then that organ from Rick(which makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up)wow!!!!After the great ambience done right we get Jon to sing this:

"Master of things. Master of light." "Songs cast alight on you. All pure chance." "Hark thru dark ties. As exists cross divided." "That tunnel us out of sane existence. In all encircling mode." "In challenge as direct. Oh closely guided plan." "As eyes see young stars assemble. Awaken in our heart."

"There's no doubt, no doubt" and then a great solo from Steve Howe. This songs sends you to Heavenly skies, it is divine.I love it 10/10

Overall though the album suffers from production I still consider it Classic Yes out of 50 it gets a 48/50 which is an A album and it deserves a 5 stars. Peace out!!!!!!

ProgMetaller2112 | 5/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this YES review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives