Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Mägo De Oz - Gaia CD (album) cover

GAIA

Mägo De Oz

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
martinezquice
5 stars Mago de Oz, right now, one of the best bands in this genre, the violin, the vocals, the flute, guitar, everything sounds perfect in the new album: "Gaia", it has Heavy rock, balad, and of course Folkish songs. The lyrics are different this time, now they talk about... well, GAIA! the spirit of the earth, how people are killing it, and some songs talk about the conquer of america by the spanish. Txus comes up with the greatest lyrics, a great thinker. I have always been a fan of rock with violins, and Metallica's S&M was great, but this is like a S&M everytime, just perfect! a music that takes you to mideval times, this is great stuff

Mago ROCKS, KABRONES!!!... enough said :) I'll be waiting for the second part of the GAIA trilogy all I have left to say is: "ROCK ON!" \m/

Report this review (#24200)
Posted Thursday, February 5, 2004 | Review Permalink
urbanconfeder
5 stars I think I'm officially the only non-hispanic American to have found Mago de Oz on my own. I picked up one of their CD's (La Leyenda de la Mancha) in Mexico, and I jammed to it for the whole way home. Their music absolutely blows me away. It typifies my personal musical tastes in every way. Since Spanish is my second language, I have no language barrier with the awesome lyrics. I have introduced this band to a lot of my friends, and they all love it. This album is no exception. Probably their best yet.
Report this review (#24203)
Posted Wednesday, March 17, 2004 | Review Permalink
5 stars Woww!! What a nice discover!!I don't like the heavy sounds but with mago de oz i begun to apreciate it.The mix between celt music, prog rock and a touch of heavy is amazing!!.Also the lyrics are great I'm spanish so I can understand them perfectly:).The best songs for are "Gaia" which, in basque, means subject and "La Costa Del Silencio".Up mago de oz!!!!
Report this review (#24208)
Posted Saturday, April 17, 2004 | Review Permalink
4 stars Mago de Oz rocks!!!!! This is by far, their best album. I used to think spanish rock sucked till i found Mago, introduced to me by some friends and i'm a big fan!! I think their mix of heavy with Folkish detail makes them a perfect band. Im latin so i understand all they're lyrics. THIS album holds their best songs (La Costa del Silencio, and Gaia).
Report this review (#24214)
Posted Monday, July 26, 2004 | Review Permalink
3 stars Mägo de Oz is one of those band that will surely disappoint you, if what you're looking for is pure heavy metal, or pure prog, or pure Hard Rock, but if you pay special attention to the music, you'll find that there is a little of everything on their music, above all, the great Folk transition and celtic music bridges. The lyrics (spanish) are very poetic and medieval, with messages of peace ("La Costa del Silencio") and a great vocal feeling. With "Gaia", you won't be disappointed if you search good music, this is a good album to start.
Report this review (#24216)
Posted Friday, July 30, 2004 | Review Permalink
3 stars This is the first prog album from mago and a very good one. It has a good concept and interesting lyrics. The music is very good and technical. The first song overtura mdxx is a good introduction to the disc. The second song gaia is one of the best which lasts 11 minutes features very good musicianship. Another track that i like very much is la leyenda de la llorona which is completeley instrumental and is very folkish with little metal. The flute and violin play their best here. My favorite song from the album is la venganza de gaia which is also 11 minutes long. It has long instrumental solos and great vocals too. You can find here for the first time a sound similar to dream theater in the keyboards. The most famous song is la costa del silencio and is the only one that I dislike. It is too simple and doesn't sound like mago de oz. The rest of the songs are mostly 80's metal but they are good. This is a good album and everyone should listen to it. I will recomend progfans to listen to la leyenda de la llorona and la venganza de gaia only instead of buying the album
Report this review (#24220)
Posted Wednesday, January 19, 2005 | Review Permalink
Fitzcarraldo
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars I'm not a fan of 'heavy metal' or 'progressive metal', but MAGO DE OZ rocks. And I say that as someone who's musical taste, as far as Progressive Rock goes, is for the symphonic side of the genre.

I've read comments about the music of MAGO DE OZ having a Celtic sound. I certainly hear strong Gaelic influences. Think of Irish fiddle, tin whistle and keyboards (piano, Hammond, synthesizers and accordion) melded with chopping axes and Spanish musical influences and you've got MAGO DE OZ. Actually, when I say "fiddle", Mohamed plays electric and acoustic violin and viola. And when I say "tin whistle", Fernando also plays the flute and bagpipes. Talented guys, with a warped sense of humour (the drummer's pseudonym is Txus di Fellatio!)

If you like heavy rock, you should definitely give this album a try. In fact, even if you are not into heavy stuff, you should still make an effort to listen to this album because you may actually like what you hear (and there are some lovely non-metal parts on this album, too). Although this is very metal oriented, there are some Progressive Rock elements: the lush arrangements, the musical influences, the variety of instruments and the album's concept (yes, it's a full-blown concept album). Mind you, some of the tracks are pure heavy rock, Gaelic influence and keyboards notwithstanding. If you are a 'progressive metal' fan, you should certainly get a major fix from this album.

Thank goodness these guys maintain their Spanish identity and sing in Spanish.

The first joy about this release is the packaging. A lot of effort has been put into producing a top quality product. Inside an outer sleeve there is a quality-printed hardback book containing, in stiff cardboard sleeves, the CD and a DVD, plus 36 pages printed in colour on thick-gauge paper. You'll find the lyrics, full details of the album's concept and the band (all in Spanish), including colour photographs of the band dressed as 15th or 16th Century sailors complete with tricorn hats and sailing coats. Aha, Jim me lad. I think those of you who don't speak Spanish will still enjoy the package. Even the artwork on the CD and DVD is pleasing. Oh, I should also mention the bizarre cartoon cover art: a grinning skeleton wearing glasses, holding the globe in its right hand and a scythe over the shoulder held with the left. And the handle of the scythe has a dripping condom slipped over it! Behind is the jungle with an Aztec temple, R2D2 lying smoking on the steps with a brick through him, and three grinning demons, one rolling a joint. There's more, but I'll leave you to discover it - and the DVD - for yourself.

'Obertura MDXX' (overture 1520) starts with the creaking of a sailing ship, the calls of the gulls overhead, the crashing waves, and the rigging singing in the wind, as bowed and plucked strings build. A choir chants and sings in the background in operatic style as horns play. What an incredibly pleasing start. I can picture Cortez' vessel ploughing through the waves with sails billowing. By the way, the choral part was recorded in a Madrid church.

Piano alone starts off the 11-minute 'Gaia'. Then Gaelic-sounding flute joins in to introduce a pleasant song. The heavy axes eventually let rip at a slow tempo and the song seems to turn into an old-fashioned heavy metal number, but then, suddenly, in comes the piano, whistle and fiddle and we're listening to an Irish jig with the axes backing. There's some fast guitar soloing on this one, plus nice Hammond and synths. A real foot tapper. The chopping axes are massive and the fiddle fantastic. Great stuff!

'La Conquista' (the conquest) starts at a fast pace with chopping axes, Hammond and flute. José joins in quickly. This is a heavy, fast and furious track. DEEP PURPLE would have been proud (some parts are very reminiscent of their stuff). Some fiddle comes in briefly midway. Another good number.

'Alma' (soul) starts with Gaelic-sounding fiddle and guitars, then has José singing over some heavy guitar interspaced with fiddle and flute. I like the way the track alternates between chopping axes, fiddle and keyboard. Sure it's a head banger at times, but the use of the fiddle with axes backing, not the other way round, is very good. And I like the use of the keyboards on this one too: the bombastic, rapid pounding is great. Have I mentioned the good drumming on all the tracks yet? Great track.

'La Costa Del Silencio' (the coast of silence) again starts with fiddle and flute but turns straight into a foot-tapper of a song, real sing-along stuff. You could be down at the inn thumping the tables to this one. Nice fiddling.

'El Arbol De La Noche Triste' (the tree of the sad night). Chopping axes backed by 'harpsichord' start this one off. Another catchy song, which has me rocking from side to side. Some good guitar and synth support the singing.

'La Rosa De Los Vientos' (the rose of the winds) is a simple, pleasant ditty. José is backed by piano and flute.

'La Leyenda De La Llorona' (the legend of La Llorona, which is a well-known Spanish legend) is lovely. Initially medieval sounding, it turns into a Gaelic romp; the flute, tin whistle, fiddle and acoustic guitar are excellent. Some nice bass work and drumming too.

'Van A Rodar Cabezas' (heads will roll) starts with some Hammond and then kicks into some serious heavy guitar and drumming work (nice, tinkling synthesizer in the background) with fiddle in places and José really belting out the song. I like some of the axe work in this, and again, the use of chopping axes to back the fiddle in places. There's some frenetic work on the axe, fiddle and Hammond on this track, all three great. The Hammond and axe work sounds so DEEP PURPLE that the lads would again be proud. Fast and furious stuff. David Coverdale-style singing too.

'El Atrapasueños' (the dreamcatcher) is another very Gaelic foot-tapper, but with some Spanish influence too. Heavy but with fiddle and flute interlude. Then there is a South American interlude, with panpipes and charango, before the fiddle kicks in again with the axe in the background. Great song!

'Si Te Vas' (if you go) is a slow rock ballad à la SCORPIONS. The sort of thing you'd be slow-dancing to, clutching your partner's sweaty body tightly, at the end of the evening after some serious clubbing. A nice mixture of fiddle, soaring guitar, piano and passionate singing. Very over-the-top, but good nonetheless.

'La Venganza de Gaia' (Gaia's revenge) is another 11-minute track. A fast tempo drum bash with synthesizer, chopping axes and a very catchy song, again with strong Gaelic influences. Τhere is a good whistle-and-fiddle interlude before the axes crash in again. Actually, there are several changes in tempo and mood during the track. There's some very good guitar work, plus some really funky bass, pleasing synthesizer and fiddle. What a great way to end the album.

Well, after listening to this I'm exhausted and my brain fried. I couldn't listen to it every day, but it's a treat: something different and good. These guys play really well, the sound is rich - it should be, with eight band members - and they are clearly very talented. Great fun. Cuatro estrellas, sin duda!

Report this review (#24221)
Posted Thursday, February 10, 2005 | Review Permalink
chamberry
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars another one of the 3 great albums made by the band (in my opinion they're best one yet). in this album you can hear that they have matured in songwriting and musically, taking things to the "next level". you can also hear that they have gained a little bit more prog influence making this album they're proggiest album yet. the case and booklet is actually like a little book that contains the lyrics and story of the album, plus a DVD with some commentary of the album and other stuff

another concept album by the band. based on mother nature (GAIA). the concept is a very intelligent and emotional one that takes you to a execution for injustice in the present and the spanish conquerors in central America. It takes you from greed, to love, to betrayal, to fighting for ones culture and religion, to death and to justice. a very beautiful work of art

every song in this album is excellent with no weak spots and catchy melodies that will stay in your head for a long time. it has an intro (an very haunting intro with sounds of a creaking ship and orchestra) , ballads, instrumentals, kick a** metal songs, beautiful folk songs and the two best tracks in the album that are both at 11:03 ( GAIA and LA VENGANZA DE GAIA).

this truly the most complete and satisfying album made by MAGO DE OZ. a true masterpiece. trust me, after hearing this album you will become a mago de oz zombie. Recomended for power metal fans with a taste for prog and folk inspired tunes.

UP MAGO! prog on. from Puerto Rico

Report this review (#50799)
Posted Saturday, October 8, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars I love this album. The way Mägo de Oz blend the many celtic folk elements (violin, flute, etc.) into their hard, and many time even heavy, rock is amazing. The sometimes very happy music flows without disruptions. In my opinion, this is a great CD, where every single element fits perfectly into a whole very compact work. Highly recommended to everyone who likes celtic folk and hard / heavy music.
Report this review (#58314)
Posted Sunday, November 27, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars This Spanish band is excellent! When my friend introduced me to them with 'A costa da rock' dvd I loved them right away, the unisons of flute, guitar and violin and the great riffs in their music are my kind of music.. Even though the lyrics are in Spanish, I think everyone should give this Spanish band a try, they are musically excellent and I specially like this album because a lot of parts on it is like a social criticism to the human mankind that don't gives a hell for what happens to our planet, along with some other stuff. My favorite tracks on this album are the powerful 'GAIA', the sweet and emotional 'LA ROSA DE LOS VIENTOS' and 'LA COSTA DEL SILENCIO' which features a great vocal arrangement in its ending section.. I can't forget to mention that the singer's voice is one of the best I have heard for this kind of music.. (I don't think it's prog-folk.. I would call it 'metal folk prog' or something like that... lol that sounds funny, but seriously, give this guys a spin and you'll see what I'm talking about. listen to the song GAIA, I think this is perfectly illustrated on this song. 4 stars. excellent addition to any prog collection
Report this review (#82388)
Posted Saturday, July 1, 2006 | Review Permalink
kenethlevine
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog-Folk Team
4 stars I have always been drawn to Celtic rock music, particularly bands like Runrig, Oysterband, Pogues, Men they Couldn't Hang, and other groups that seemed to balance the traditional with modern arrangements. At times they even verged onto prog territory, but more as a reflection of influences rather than a true orientation. Although I cannot say I was wondering what a band would sound like if they combined those traits with more progressiveness and a serious metallic edge, I suspect that Mago de Oz provides the answer, and the result is far better than I could have anticipated.

With expressive vocals in Spanish, a full compliment of whistles and other appropriate instruments, and plenty of crashing rhythm guitars, "Gaia" contains a highly appealing blend of the muscle of prog metal and the folk song. Within we have truly beautiful ballads ( "La Rosa de los Vientos"), mysteriously gothic themes ("Obertura MDXX"), metal treatises ("La Conquista"), anthemic power ballads ("Si Te Vas"), stylish prog pop ("El Árbol de la Noche Triste"), and, most impressively, a couple of epics that combine all in one ("Gaia" and " La Venganza de Gaia").

The Celtic vibe is really never far away on Gaia, so I would not recommend this to anyone who has a problem with that style. But to all others this is a real winner. This "wizard of oz" has gifted us with a new genre that we were lacking, or did we really have it all along and just not know it?

Report this review (#137796)
Posted Tuesday, September 11, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars The new Mago is better than older, with this album the band gives a new spin in their sound and their lyrics, this album tells a history about the Conquest of Mexico, also with this new sound adding more flutes and violin passages the barroque and medieval music is remarkable there are less guitars sounds on this album, the bass has amazing lines, the voice is powerful and very emotive, Also the Keyboards of Sergio takes a main role in this album for example playing amazing riffs in Mellotron (Van a Rodar Cabezas) so the album has a perfect harmony! BTW the melodies here are beautiful every song contains great melodies!

Every song is like a little history (since the album is conceptual it contains amazing lyrics). Apart of the history of the conquest of Mexico there are another history about Gaia (Goddess of Earth in greek mythology), the music is so catchy and powerful IMO this album is the best of them although I like every album of Mago ( Personally this one is my favorite).I love it!

The progressives structures are most notables in this album (Gaia and La Venganza de Gaia) now their overtures are more epics, this album is perfect to me every song is very important here, no filler, no waste time, everything fits here! if you dont like Mago but you like medieval sounds and barroque passages this album is for you of course with a touch of Folk/Metal. So 5 starts to this great record Recommended!

Report this review (#268834)
Posted Saturday, February 27, 2010 | Review Permalink

MÄGO DE OZ Gaia ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of MÄGO DE OZ Gaia


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — jazz music reviews and archives | MetalMusicArchives.com — metal music reviews and archives