Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Osibisa Sunshine day, The Pye/Bronze anthology album cover
3.09 | 3 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1999

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1
Welcome home
1. Sunshine Day (4;57)
2. Welcome Home 4:16)
3. Densu - Trad (5:23)
4. Choboi (Heave Ho) (5:08)
5. Do It (Like It Is) (4:24)
6. Right Now (3:10)
7. Seaside Meditation (5:15)
8. Uhuru (3:27)
9. Kolomashie - Trad (4:35)
10. Bum To Bum (Non album track) (5:53)

Ojah Awake
11. The Coffee Song (3:15)
12. Warrior (3:46)
13. Flying Bird "Anoma" (4:49)
14. Cherryfield (4:38)
15. Keep On Trying (5:26)
16. Hamattan (6:07)
17. Sakabo (4:00)

Disc: 2
1. Dance The Body Music (3:49)
2. Ojah Awake (4:56)
3. Sunset (Non album track) (6:28)

Mystic energy
4. Meeting Point (5:17)
5. Celebration (4:46)
6. Africa We Go Go (4:16)
7. Oreba (Magic people) (5:18)
8. Movin' On (5:39)
9. Mama (I Will Be Back) (4:04)
10. I Feel (Pata Pata) (4:40)
11. Fatima / Obinkabi (6:53)

Non album tracks
12. Jumbo (3:11)
13. Meeting Point (7:40)
14. I Feel (Pata Pata) (6:50)

Total Time: 152:10

Line-up / Musicians

Welcome home
- Jean-Karl Dikoto Mandengue / bass, guitar (bass)
- Mike Odumusu / bass, guitar (bass), vocals
- Teddy Osei / flute, percussion, saxophone (Soprano), saxophone (Tenor), African - drums, vocals
- Wendel Richardson / guitar (acoustic), vocals, guitar
- Mac Tontoh / percussion, flugelhorn, prensa, didjeridu, trumpet
- Ray Allen / vibraphone
- Sol Amarfio / percussion, drums, bells, conga, bongos
- Kofi Ayivor / percussion, conga
- Robert Bailey / vibraphone
- Paul Golly / guitar, guitar (rhythm)
- Kiki Gyan / organ, clavinet, keyboards, clarinet, piano
- Barbara Thompson / vibraphone

Ojah awake
- Teddy Osei / fllute, percussion
- Wendel Richardson / guitar, drums, vocals
- Mac Tontoh / trumpet
- Sol Amarfio / drums
- Kofi Ayivor / congas, African drums
- Kiki Gyan / keyboards, vocals
- Mike Odrumusu / bass

Mystic Energy
- Robert Abia / bass, guitar
- Rebop Kwaku Baah / percussion
- Candy McKenzie / vocals
- Daku / keyboards
- Jean-Karl Dikoto Mandengue / bass
- Mac Tontoh / trumpet
- Miquel Brown / vocals
- Teddy Osei / flute, percussion
- Pam Douglas / vocals
- Emmanuel Rentzos / keyboards, vocals
- Kathy T. / vocals
- Sol Amarfio / drums
- Alton Edwards / vocals
- Kari Bannerman / guitar

Releases information

Castle music/Sequel records NEECD313

Thanks to easy livin for the addition
and to ProgLucky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy OSIBISA Sunshine day, The Pye/Bronze anthology Music

OSIBISA Sunshine day, The Pye/Bronze anthology ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

OSIBISA Sunshine day, The Pye/Bronze anthology reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Sanitised

"Sunshine day" is a well put together compilation of three consecutive releases by Osibisa from the mid to late 1970's. The story of these three albums is of a band being pulled in different directions. Gerry Bron's Bronze records, who had managed the band for some time, persuaded them to sign for the label. Once signed the band were encouraged to move in a more commercial direction, and to come up with singles orientated songs. "Welcome home" and "Ojah awake", both released in 1976, reflect this significantly. The band left Bronze thereafter, and recorded their next album without a contract. This afforded them the freedom to do what they felt most comfortable doing. Once the recordings were completed, they then sought a deal with a record label. Pye records picked them up, resulting in the release of the material as "Mystic energy", which has a noticeably different feel to the other two albums.

Since the period covered is well after the band's most progressive period, the music here is generally of a more commercial nature, as evidenced by the compilation's hugely successful title track. Hidden away among the other singles orientated pieces such as the whimsical "The coffee song" and "Warrior" however are some Osibisa classics. These include the Santana like "Sakabo", the emotive "Flying bird", and the lilting "Sunset", originally a non-album track, but included on the CD release of "Mystic Energy".

While the ethnic rhythms of the band's native Ghana are still dominant throughout, they are often sanitised to fit better into the disco market which was clearly the target of the singles extracted from these albums.

The tracks included here from the "Mystic energy" album reflect the original LP release rather than the expanded CD version, although space is found for two of the four extra tracks from the CD. The collection closes with two 12" versions of tracks from "Mystic energy".

A worthy compilation for those who wish to taste the music of this long lasting and highly gifted outfit. Do not however mistake "Sunshine day" for an anthology covering the band's entire career. This collection does not include anything from their earliest prog related albums.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of OSIBISA "Sunshine day, The Pye/Bronze anthology"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.