Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Post Rock/Math rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Tarentel Ghetto Beats On The Surface Of The Sun album cover
3.00 | 1 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2007

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1:
1. Everybody Fucks With Somebody (4:46)
2. All Things Vibrations (16:12)
3. Dreamtigers (4:30)
4. Ghost Trees (5:22)
5. Le Trash Can (1:21)
6. Ghetto Ghosts (2:55)
7. Sun Place (17:07)
8. Donkey-Bunny (0:50)
9. Tied To A Tree In A Jungle Of Mystery (1:21)
10. Cosmic Dust (2:55)

Disc 2:
1. Stellar Envelope (8:16)
2. A Crystal The Size Of Our Moon In The Heart Of A Pulsating White Dwarf (5:50)
3. Mirrors, Gardens (3:07)
4. As Quiet As Silentifically Possible (2:50)
5. Warm Glass (1:16)
6. Fever Sleep (1:43)
7. Sleep Map (13:16)
8. Whistle In The Wires (4:13)
9. Somebody Fucks With Everybody (16:23)
10. Where Time Forgot (6:40)
11. Isalais Delay (1:43)
12. You Do This. I'll Do That (7:26)
13. Lake Light (2:29)

Line-up / Musicians

- Sei Getsu Ledesma / Unknown
- Danny Grody / Unknown
- Jim Redd / Unknown
- Tony Cross / Unknown

Releases information

Temporary Records TRR102 2xCD 2007. The Music Fellowship MF21 2xLP, MF22 2xLP, MF23 2xLPand MF24 2xLP 2007

Thanks to anael for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy TARENTEL Ghetto Beats On The Surface Of The Sun Music

More places to buy TARENTEL music online Buy TARENTEL & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

TARENTEL Ghetto Beats On The Surface Of The Sun ratings distribution

(1 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

TARENTEL Ghetto Beats On The Surface Of The Sun reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Sean Trane
3 stars 3.5 stars really!!!

Released in 07, this double disc album actually dates from 04-05, this superbly-titled (a bit misleading intentionally to trick rappers into buying it) is certainly once again proving that Tarentel is on the forefront of Post Rock, running alongside Tortoise, light years ahead of the rest of the pack, the GYBE! imitators. Actually these two groups are so far away from their peers, that calling them Post Rock has become reductive and misleading: indeed Tort and Tare have almost invented the style by themselves in the mid-90's, but the huge production of EITS or Mogwai and even Sigur Ros trying for that Constellation Record label sound since has rendered the Post Rock image precisely that of Constellation. Don't get me wrong, I'm not blaming it on the Montreal-based label, but well on the hundreds of imitators that have copied that sound since.

The two disc are relatively similar (the second being a little less "melodic" or a little more dissonant), carrying us through a bunch of sound collages and ambiances that often borders the nightmarish rather than the erotic wet dream. Musically we are somewhere between 03's stupendous We Move through Weather and 05's Big Black Square and Paper White, but unlike these releases, we're faced with a bunch of tracks (10 on the first and 13 on the second disc) on both albums rather than long tracks, but generally the musical propos is roughly the same as those albums nearing it. A continuous tapestry of sounds (the tracks are melted into each other) that sometimes is close to making perfect sense and has an eerie beauty, despite its gloom and doom; and at others sounds like a volcano in eruption its spewing loud blobs of lava and spilling its bile-like magma into your living room. Early Tangerine Dream like Zeit, Atem, Phaedra and Alpha Centauri soundscapes are not far away from this Tarentel release

As usual, and like most Tarentel albums, Ghetto Beats is simply not for the faint-hearted or those Post Rockers looking for their usual stuff. On the whole, unless a bit masochistic I don't think you'll be playing both discs in one sitting and once the novelty worn off, this type of album will probably not find regular rotation and eventually get pushed to a corner of the shelves where gathering dust will be its main occupation until you'll remember it and play it once and starting the vicious circle again. But it's definitely worth an ear.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of TARENTEL "Ghetto Beats On The Surface Of The Sun"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives