Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


After Forever

Progressive Metal

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

After Forever Prison Of Desire album cover
3.33 | 42 ratings | 4 reviews | 14% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Mea Culpa (The Embrace That Smothers - Prologue) (1:59)
2. Leaden Legacy (The Embrace That Smothers - Part I) (5:04)
3. Semblance of Confusion (4:06)
4. Black Tomb (6:26)
5. Follow in the Cry (The Embrace That Smothers - Part II) (4:03)
6. Silence from Afar (5:51)
7. Inimical Chimera (4:57)
8. Tortuous Threnody (6:10)
9. Yield to Temptation (The Embrace That Smothers - Part III) (5:50)
10. Ephemeral (3:03)
11. Beyond Me (6:10)

Total Time 53:39

Bonus tracks on 2015 LP release:
12. Wings of Illusion (7:22)
13. Mea Culpa (instrumental version) (2:01)
14. Mea Culpa (a cappella version) (1:50)
15. Semblance of Confusion (instrumental version) (4:07)
16. Follow in the Cry (instrumental version) (4:05)
17. Follow in the Cry (a cappella version) (1:20)

Line-up / Musicians

- Floor Jansen / vocals
- Mark Jansen / guitars, screams
- Sander Gommans / guitars, grunts
- Jack Driessen / synths
- Luuk van Gerven / bass
- Joep Beckers / drums

- Sharon Den Adel / vocals (11)
- Yvonne Rooda / backing vocals (1,2,5,6,9)
- Hans Cassa / backing vocals (1,2,5,6,9)
- Melissa 't Hart / backing vocals (1,2,5,6,9)
- Caspar De Jonge / backing vocals (1,2,5,6,9)

Releases information

Artwork: Carsten Drescher

CD Transmission Records ‎- TM-023 (2000, Netherlands)

2xLP Transmission Records ‎- TMV-068 (2015, Netherlands) Remastered with 6 bonus tracks

Thanks to The T for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy AFTER FOREVER Prison Of Desire Music

AFTER FOREVER Prison Of Desire ratings distribution

(42 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(14%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(31%)
Good, but non-essential (45%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

AFTER FOREVER Prison Of Desire reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Bonnek
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
2 stars After Forever is a typical exponent of the female-fronted gothic metal band. They are not as pompous as Within Temptation or Nightwish and not as commercial as Lacuna Coil. Basically Prison of Desire is a watered down copy-cat of the Gathering's Mandylion style.

Floor Jansen is an excellent vocalist. Her singing voive is reminiscent of Anneke Van Giersbergen but she's equally adept at operatic flourishes. My frustration with this album comes from the fact that it hints at what they could have accomplished if the band had just collectively sacked themselves and Floor had found some more inspired and talented musicians to strengthen her potential.

Unfortunately that is not the case. Worst of all, they deemed it necessary to destroy most songs with boring instrumental filler and the most uninspired and inexpressive male grunts you can find in the business. They are exactly what I sound like when I'm having a cold and I'm sure you wouldn't want to pay money to hear that.

Don't pick this up unless you're a die-hard fan of this style and have already devoured every album from The Gathering and the good stuff from Therion and Stream Of Passion or the more adventurous style of Madder Mortem.

Latest members reviews

3 stars Less progressive than their later efforts, it is a good record nevertheless for an open metal fan. There are diverse influence manifested in the music such as classical music (without any orchestra so inferior to Therion), gothic/doom slight spirit and some progressive moments. Vocals are exce ... (read more)

Report this review (#2377725) | Posted by sgtpepper | Thursday, May 7, 2020 | Review Permanlink

5 stars In the first place, my interest in this band came as a sort of "spin-off" of listening to Nightwish, after hearing their last album: "Endless forms most beautiful". They introduced a new vocalist here: Floor Jansen (at least on studio albums, she had already collaborated with them on a live albu ... (read more)

Report this review (#1702940) | Posted by ramien | Friday, March 17, 2017 | Review Permanlink

4 stars I like this album. Simple? More or less. The sound from keyboard sometimes is very loud but it's not a problem. Mark Jansen, Floor Jansen and Sander Gommans with their vocalizations are amazing. At time the called gothic metal was in vogue and because of that band's sound was considered as anothe ... (read more)

Report this review (#759183) | Posted by Vobiscum | Saturday, May 26, 2012 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of AFTER FOREVER "Prison Of Desire"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.