Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Talk Talk

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Talk Talk The Collection album cover
3.21 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 20% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Talk Talk
2. It's My Life
3. Without You
4. Strike Up The Band
5. Life's What You Make It
6. It's Getting Late In The Evening
7. Pictures Of Bernadette
8. Happiness Is Easy (12'' Mix)
9. The Last Time
10. I Don't Believe In You
11. It's You
12. Talk Talk (Demo Version)
13. It's So Serious
14. The Party's Over
15. Dum Dum Girl
16. Candy

Line-up / Musicians

- Mark Hollis / vocal, guitar, piano, organ
- Lee Harris / drums
- Mark Feltham / harmonica
- Martin Ditcham / percussion
- Tim Friese Greene / organ, piano, harmonium
- Levine Andrade / viola
- Stephen Tees / viola
- George Robertson / viola
- Gavyn Wright / viola
- Jack Glickma / viola
- Garfield Jackson / viola
- Wilf Gilbson / viola
- Simon Edwards / acoustic bass
- Ernest Mothle / acoustic bass
- Rodger Smith / cello
- Paul Kegg / cello
- Henry Lowther / trumpet, flugelhorn
- Dave White / contrabass clarinet

Releases information

EMI Gold 2000, re-released with alternative cover 2003

Thanks to easy livin for the addition
and to Keppa4v for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy TALK TALK The Collection Music

TALK TALK The Collection ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(20%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(60%)
Good, but non-essential (20%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

TALK TALK The Collection reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Small talk

As with most (but not all) Talk Talk compilations, this set focuses on the band's earlier pop centric albums. The usual suspects such as "It's my life", "Talk talk" (2 versions), "Life's what you make it", etc., are rolled out in random fashion over 16 tracks. A couple of relative rarities are thrown in for good measure, including a 12" mix of "Happiness is easy", but these as these are already available on other compilations, they hardly offer an excuse to buy this set.

The music is of course superb, being sophisticated pop prog at its very best. There is an atmosphere and excellence to the music of Talk Talk which takes it beyond the simple material of the pop charts, and even sets it apart from peers such as 10CC. The band's albums are however well crafted affairs, where the selected singles sit easily with the remaining album tracks. To extract the successful singles and place them one after the other is to lose the continuity of the source albums, leaving a satisfactory, but superfluous collection of singles.

Those seeking to skim the surface of this fine band will enjoy this collection. Those wondering why they are listed on this site are strongly advised to avoid this collection and look elsewhere in the band's discography for the answer to that.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of TALK TALK "The Collection"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.